Six Hours Every Day

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2016
How we teach” by i a walsh on Flickr.

It has officially been 3 months since I packed up my life into two suitcases and a carry-on for the once in a life time chance of adventure and self-improvement.

It has been a quarter of a year, and so much has changed since I arrived.

When I first arrived in Beijing, I could only speak a few phrases of Chinese and only recognize a handful of Chinese characters. Well, a bit more than a handful. You see, I had studied Japanese before and the languages use many of the same characters. That by no means has made it any easier to learn.

Every weekday for about six hours I am in a classroom being bombarded with new words. So many new words. There is not a second of the day where I am not learning something new.

But that is just what I learn from my teachers and the textbook.

The added benefit of being in China is that I can learn from people everywhere. If I can’t read something I often ask someone passing by to read it for me and they are almost always willing to help. All of the local people that I have met are very encouraging and are happy that I have decided to study their mother tongue. Its nice to have that kind of encouragement from strangers.

I recently started watching TV when I have time (I actually don’t have time, but I watch it anyway). It feels like out of nowhere I am now able to follow most of the shows. It helps that there are Chinese subtitles on nearly every show. If I can’t hear something clearly, I can at least see the character.

It has long been a dream of mine to be able to spend a focused energy on studying a language without having to worry about work or other classes. Now that I am doing it, I realize that it’s a pretty intense thing to wish for. I sometimes second-guess my choices in life. But I am here now, for better or for worse.

I’m going to use this opportunity to learn as much as I can, and maybe have some fun along the way.

Listen to Episode 125 — Virtual Reality, Internet, and Nausea:

Written by Bashir of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

If you enjoy our content, please think about supporting us on Patreon as well!

Creatively Professional ← Previous — Next → A Gift for Gumbo

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.