Photo by Mustafa Khayat on Flickr.

The Audacity of Doubt

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
2 min readMar 19, 2016

--

Am I sad?

My writing and many of my Comatose pieces give off a very melancholic feel that I am aware of, but that I would not necessarily call sad. It’s how I feel comfortable expressing myself.

It’s not strange.

Behind every success there is a mountain of doubt. There are times when it really does feel like there is no hope, or at least that whatever hope there is, is no longer worth it. Especially when there is another choice waiting.

It feels so easy to just give up.

Exploring that emotion and finding a way to express all those feelings of being lost- and losing your way is the only way to remember you are not alone. The real threat of giving up comes from feeling like there is no one else who cares.

And I do believe that other people care.

I also believe other people struggle to find support.

I believe everyone doubts themselves.

Is that sad?

Accepting that it’s normal to struggle is a part of moving forward, progress, and even success. Thinking that one day everything will solve itself is what sets you up for failure, or at least disappointment.

It may sound fatalist, but that’s not the message I want to send. If you feel stuck, there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s perfectly normal to feel like you’re in too deep and don’t know where to go next.

Dream big.

There are always two diverging roads, but you are not alone in that yellow wood.

Listen to Fire, Orbit, and Loser:

Written by John Bauer of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

We All Live And We All Die ← Previous — Next → Why I Didn’t Attend SXSW

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.