Queer-antine Playlist: Part 2

Jay Butler
The Cross And The Closet
5 min readMar 29, 2020

Hey everyone! I just finished week 2 of working from home and this stuff is beginning to wear on me. I like hanging around in shirts and shorts, but I’m a classic extrovert. I need something to stimulate me intellectually and not keep me bored. Of course, I’ve gotta make it gay too. I really enjoyed creating a playlist for y’all last week that focused on movies, TV shows, and books. Today I want to focus on music and podcasts. Take a look at more of my favorite LGBTQ pieces of media!

Troye Sivan-“Bloom”

Released in 2018, Australian singer Troye Sivan’s second album Bloom combines great synth and soulful lyrics. Sivan, who identifies as gay, is still somewhat unknown in America and hasn’t received the acclaim he deserves. He also has acted in several movies, including the movie Boy Erased, which is the movie adaptation of the book by Garrard Conley about Conley’s experiences in conversion therapy. Sivan received a Golden Globe nomination for Best Original Song for the movie.

Bloom is written a lot about the gay experience. “Seventeen”, the first track on the album, is written about a experience he had with a man from a hookup app. It’s definitely sexy and defiant. It’s brave to be this bold about who you are on an album and I applaud Sivan for being so unapologetic about who he is. My favorite songs on the album are “My, My, My”, “Dance to This”, a duet with Ariana Grande, and “Lucky Strike”. Bloom is available on Spotify, Apple Tunes, and I guess CD too, so I don’t know…Sam Goody?

Years and Years-“Palo Santo”

Years and Years is a British band that I was turned onto a couple of years ago. Palo Santo, which stands for “holy wood”, has a lot of religious symbolism in it. According to lead singer Olly Alexander, who identifies as gay, he wanted to show the shared traits of belonging found in churches and gay nightclubs. Many songs that I like on the album have a religious theme to them. Shocking right?

“Sanctify” uses a lot of religious imagery, but is much more sexual in nature. The beat and overall tone of the song is highly infectious. “Hallelujah” is a great song to dance to, “If You Over Me” is probably their most classically pop sounding song, and “Preacher” is about a man who’s in love with a minister who’s not yet out. How can anyone relate to that song? AMIRITE? Along with Bloom, Palo Santo is an album that can you turn on the first song of the album, and listen to all of the way. You can stream this or pick it up at your local Media Play.

Trey Pearson- “Love is Love”

I broke one of my rules that I set last week. I reviewed Trey Pearson’s latest album Love is Love last August, and I said I wouldn’t mention any piece of media I’ve already discussed. You can read my track-by-track review by clicking here. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention it again, though. It’s one of the few pieces of music that speaks to the gay Christian experience. Pearson does it with such emotion and conviction. Do yourself a favor and listen to it.

Moving Parts-Netflix

I broke another rule by focusing on another thing from Netflix, but IN MY DEFENSE, this just went on Netflix on Friday. “Moving Parts” is a documentary about Trixie Mattel, one of the most popular drag performers in the world right now. Mattel won season 3 of RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars, has a wildly successful show on YouTube entitled UNHhhhh with her co-star Katya, and has released multiple critically-acclaimed folk albums. “Moving Parts” focuses on her developing her Skinny Legend live tour, the airing of RPDR All Stars 3, and her brief fallout with Katya due to Katya’s drug addiction, mental illness, and subsequent stint in rehab.

It is a great way to see a different side of one of my favorite performers. She’s introverted, hard working, and vulnerable in this documentary. It’s a great way to see that our favorite stars and performers are flawed, human, and go through life just like us.

Homophilia-Podcast/Earwolf

I love Homophilia because it focuses solely on LGBTQ performers. Hosts Dave Holmes, who you may know from his long stint on MTV, and Matt McConkey are both gay and wanted to provide a space where queer artists can talk about that part of their lives in a safe space and allow them to freely express who they are. My favorite episodes are the ones with Jacob Tobia(who I spoke about in regards to their book Sissy), Nina West(a contestant on Drag Race this past season), and Karamo Brown from Queer Eye. You can take a listen to it on any podcast listening service, but extra content is available with a subscription to Earwolf.

Nancy-Apple Podcast/NPR

Finally, there’s another show done through WNYC and NPR called Nancy. From the show’s website, “Nancy is a critically-acclaimed podcast featuring queer stories and conversations, and hosted by two best friends, neither of whom are named Nancy. It’s a podcast about how we define ourselves, and the journey it takes to get there.” Nancy is used a derogatory term for boys who were gay or effeminate. By making it the title of a queer story-based podcast, it takes the vitriol out of that name.

One of the most poignant stories they focus on is the impending split in the United Methodist Church. The story centers on a UMC clergywoman coming out of the closet after the 2019 Special General Conference upheld the church’s view on LGBTQ clergy and same-sex marriage. It’s powerful to say the least. It’s free to listen to on any podcast service.

That’s it for this week! Would you add any to this collection? I’ll be off next week, as I want to spend more time on a more theologically focused post and need more time for research. Stay safe and stay indoors!

--

--

Jay Butler
The Cross And The Closet

Writer and Editor of the blog “The Cross and the Closet”