Things You Need To Know If You Want To Work In An Anime Studio.

Fahim Ahmed
THE CROWN

--

l like to watch anime as much as I hate to study. And, some question has frequently come to my mind. Like- How are these made? Can I get a job in a studio? Is it actually fun? As I looked up to the answers, I learnt some interesting, surprising and saddening facts. So, I am going to share them now.

But before that, did you know I wrote a similar article on the gaming industry? You can read it here.

And to write this article, I have taken help from — Whiteboard Animation, Vox, Comicsverse.

The first animated film released in Japan, and therefore the first anime, was probably released in late 1916 or very early ’17 by Shimokawa Oten, made with chalk, and less than five minutes long. The uncertainty comes from the fact that most early Japanese films were dismantled after the reels were finished. The US anime craze started at the turn of the century with Sailor Moon’s middle-school magical girls out to save faraway planets; One Piece’s pirates, cyborgs, and fish people seeking a legendary treasure; and Pokémon’s Ash Ketchum on a noble quest to “catch ’em all.”

These classic shows and many others led the charge; between 2002 and 2017, the Japanese animation industry doubled in size to more than $19 billion annually.

--

--