COOKING UP A KITCHEN PRACTICE

How to Pivot in the Kitchen

Rolling Through The Pain

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa Grande
3 min readJun 9, 2024

--

“A tasty pivot” Author photo

Unexpected events have a way of making the once taken-for-granted parts of everyday life extremely valuable.

My recent ankle injury has taught me a series of ongoing life lessons.

There are the obvious lessons:

Ankles are super important and curbs are dangerous.

There’s the cliché lessons that are nevertheless valuable:

Every day is a gift to be treasured.

There are also a few surprising lessons that I’m still absorbing:

Pivot in the kitchen with care and listening.

Pivoting in the Kitchen

I enjoy baking bread for the family, and my ankle injury has slowed me down significantly.

I’m still baking, but I’m also learning from my injury.

In the kitchen, I’m learning about the importance of pivoting.

Turning to change direction.

Pivot #1

The other day I wanted to make ciabatta rolls for dinner. The result was a lesson in how to pivot in the kitchen.

--

--

CJ McRae
The Daily Cuppa Grande

I'm a writer, musician, and a dad. I play the trumpet. I write creative nonfiction and short fiction about cooking, food, and the curiosities of life.