ONE-CITY-PER-DAY CHALLENGE

Palma de Mallorca, Balearic Islands, Spain

Wonderful architecture and… hot chocolate!

Published in
Feb 21, 2024

--

The frontage of the Royal Palace of La Almudaina, with a luminous reflection of the sun.
Photo by author

You might be blinded by the light or the architecture of the Royal Palace of La Almudaina!

Or the history of the place as well.

This heritage building is indeed the testimony of the Roman period, the Almohad and Almoravid Caliphates, the Aragonese and Spanish monarchs, and now the Spanish royal family.

But it was the “chocolate con churros” I savored there that blinded me. The best of my life!

Hot chocolate on a table in a bar, facing the street.
Photo by author

Yes, I know I must be moderate, as Gary L Ellis reminded us in his post Chocolate Without Shame.

I wonder how I can switch from a historical place to the philosophical question of the benefits of chocolate!

Are you still with me?! Or have I lost you?

Explore one city each day - Kleri's challenge

121 stories
The town of Chania seen from the lighthouse. In the background, the beautiful mountains called lefka ori.
Cappadocian village with a mosque and white buses waiting for the tourists.
Seashore with snow-capped mountains in the background.

--

--

Kleri
The Daily Cuppa

Passionate about the beauty of living together, the arts and the poetry of every human being. I want to give my children an insight into the beauty of life.