A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa
Published in
Mar 6, 2023

Want to connect across time and distance?

Try cardmaking!

For the past decade, I have lived across the country from my family. We see each other once a year and it can be hard to connect between visits. Store cards are expensive and they don’t quite say what I have in mind. So, I make my own cards. This week’s offerings include notes to celebrate International Women’s Day.

Handmade cards made of crayon, and watercolor that read, “Happy International Womens Day!”
(Photo by author)

Handmade card tips:

  1. Speak from your heart. Incorporate art, quotations, or your own verse to convey your message.
  2. Use what you have. Use recycled paper, crayons, markers, or pens. Make a collage out of found objects. Make it your own.
  3. Make your own drawings. If you need some help, like me, YouTube tutorials are great, like Art for Kids Hub.
  4. Don’t worry about perfection. A handmade card is special because YOU made it!

© A A McRae 2023

--

--

A A McRae
The Daily Cuppa

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites