FIFTY-TWO WEEKS WITH YOUR DIARY THE DIARIST PROMPT

Tell Us: What Is Meaningful Work?

Have you changed careers, what interesting tales do you have?

The Diarist
Published in
3 min readMar 4, 2024

--

Image created by author on Canva

Week eleven of fifty -two weeks with your diary, The Diarist entry prompts

You know, I can’t take full credit for this week’s The Diarist entry prompt. That’s because I was asked this question many moons ago myself, when I took part in a year long journal writing course. I’ve stolen it as I found it such an interesting, but at the same time difficult question to answer myself.

That’s why I’m asking you!

The good thing was when I sat down with my diary and answered this question, I realised that: for me personally “meaningful work” was certainly not the job I was in. I also realised I needed fulfilment from work that I wasn’t really getting.

Mmmm.

The biggest realisation for me was: “work” that’s meaningful doesn’t always mean work in the traditional sense, as in employment and being paid. Work can simply mean something you have to do, like a soul calling, that’s not involved with being paid or a career.

Tell us:

  • What is meaningful work to you, personally?
  • Are you in the…

--

--

The Diarist

A Londoner, essayist, crime fiction writer, humanitarian, avid reader. Writing about 'womanist' topics, race, gender, society, and what's important worldwide.