DIY

I Had Postcards Printed to Celebrate Pride Month

Sending pride and poetry through the mail

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2022

--

a stack of postcards with a poem printed on them and a rainbow colored design along the left side
photo by the author

At the end of May, I wrote a story to share some of my brainstorming about ways to celebrate LGBTQIA+ Pride month that would be low-key and still fun.

After I wrote the story, I got the idea to have some postcards printed with a poem of mine that might fit the occasion. I looked through some of my recent poems and found a short one about finding love unexpectedly.

Then I looked through the postcard templates on a website called GotPrint. In the past, I’ve happily used Vistaprint to print postcards, but my credit card company had sent me a cashback deal with GotPrint, and I googled and found a promo for first-time buyers on the site, so I thought, why not?

After shipping costs, it was just under $30 to get the cards within a week (and this was with the “standard” shipping price, not the express). So it wasn’t super cheap, but it wasn’t bad, either, especially for something so easy to create and on high-quality paper with professional printing.

I think the postcards came out pretty cool! I just had to copy and paste my poem and tinker with the formatting and placement a bit. The paper has a subtle finish — it’s described as matte but reminds me a bit of eggshell…

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!