1924 in Film

A new journey through film history.

Alejandro Martinez
The Early Years
2 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Next year, I’m planning on starting another little project. I intend on publishing reviews of every notable film released in 1924, on the 100th anniversaries of their premieres. I’m calling it 1924 in Film. It is similar to my ongoing 1994 in Film project, except these reviews will be published as part of an online series and not in a book (at least not for now).

I've already written reviews of two early '24 releases. First, the German Kammerspielfilm Sylvester (A.K.A. New Year's Eve), which premiered on January 3rd, from the screenwriter of The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari and Sunrise. The second is a film called Leap Year, a film made in 1921 which wasn't released until January 11th, 1924, starring Roscoe "Fatty" Arbuckle.

I'm curious to see if more people would be willing to join me on this journey. I'm going down this list on IMDb, which includes every film released that year which has at least 1 vote on the site, meaning at least one person has seen it or felt compelled to rate it in the last 20 years or so. This list includes some lost films, as well as films unavailable in the English language, such as the first release of the year, a Danish/Icelandic co-production called Hadda Padda.

If you have an interest in antique media pre-1930s, whether it be films, music, books, etc., then I invite you to join our publication, The Early Years. Just leave a comment down below and you're welcome aboard!

--

--