Episode 2 | Deutsch Mentor šŸ¤– Learn German with AI

Marketing sprint āœØ Exploring Social Media Outreach, Engaging Community Feedback, User Growth Insights, and Learning from Marketing Experiments

Gianmarco Ebeling
The Indie Maker
4 min readNov 5, 2023

--

Welcome back to my indie maker saga, where I share the genuine details of my journey ā€” both the highs and the lows.

As always, I like to start the article with a clear statement of the goal:

A portfolio of SaaS products that collectively generate ā‚¬10,000 in monthly recurring revenue šŸ“ˆ

As you might already know, the first Saas is Deutsch Mentor, a platform dedicated to teaching German through AI-powered conversations.

Since my last update on the ā€œbuilding sprintā€, the story continues as we now embark on the mission to attract more users.

This is exactly what I tried to do in this first marketing sprint.

The Facebook experiment

In the first week of the sprint, I decided to do a little experiment.

Despite not being a regular Facebook user, I noticed numerous groups of people looking to learn German, some of them with more than 300 thousand members.

I got into these groups and tried to post this catchy image to grab attention.

Playing the ā€œscarcityā€ card, I hinted we were looking for just 10 new users. Truth is, I clearly wanted moreā€¦ but hey, itā€™s marketing. šŸ˜‚

I tried to post this in different groups and only the admins of ā€œGerman Friendship & Language LearningšŸ’ššŸ’ššŸ’šā€ (funny name, I know) let it pass.

The post actually performed okay.

It got 19 likes and 23 comments from people saying they were ā€œinterested.ā€
I followed up with a link to each person.

Unfortunately only one of the 23 replied, and besides telling me he was going to sign upā€¦ he never did šŸ˜‚

Result: A good laugh and a note that Facebook might not be the best platform for marketing Deutsch Mentor.

Despite that flop, I was not discouraged.
It was worth the shot for the laughs and who knows, it might just work next time.

A different approach on Discord

Changing gears, I gave Discord a go, joining a ā€œGerman Learning and Discussionā€ server.

Much better outcome here.

After dropping an intro message, I saw immediately 3 new sign-ups.

A few even DMā€™ed me asking for the link, and I got some nice feedback.

During the second week, I continued with marketing, and I also hit up a few users directly.

I got a better idea of whatā€™s working and whatā€™s not with the platform.

Some users were also so kind to suggest great ideas:

Some numbers

Finally, for the stats lovers, hereā€™s the current user count.

From 7 initial users, weā€™ve expanded to 17 total users šŸŽ‰šŸŽŠ

Although these are rookie numbers, the 143% growth is substantial and I am happy with the result for the first two weeks of marketing.

Conclusion

Regarding the marketing ā€œexperimentsā€, I would say mixed results, but the Discord test was encouraging.

I am learning as I go, figuring out what platforms work and which donā€™t.

As always, thanks for the support and feedback. If youā€™ve got any tips or comments, drop me a line.

Next up, Iā€™ll keep you updated on the current building sprint, where I am working on amazing new features!

Stay tuned for more updates following me and The Indie Maker publication.

And if you are learning Germanā€¦check out the platform!

Till next time šŸš€

--

--

Gianmarco Ebeling
The Indie Maker

Founder of Deutsch Mentor. Indie Maker. Building a portfolio of SaaS to achieve financial freedom. Just ship it!