Using a Rocketbook Planner 7 Days A Week

Monday to Sunday chock full of planning.

Rocketbook Launchpad
The Launch Pad
6 min readJan 7, 2022

--

Imagine if planners only included Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. That would be insane, right? Because there aren’t only three days in a week. There are seven. But planners aren’t insane, and they do in fact have space to plan for all seven days. There’s value in organizing your life Monday through Sunday, so strap in and enjoy the ride to see how to use a Rocketbook planner 7 days a week.

Follow Along with Your Rocketbook Everyday Planner: these tips will enhance your planning skills regardless of the planner used, but we’ll be using the new Everyday Planner as the backdrop for this how-to guide.

Instead of telling you how to use your planner, we’re going to pretend to be a person, who we’ll name Johnny Rocket, and explain how that person (i.e. Johnny Rocket) uses the planner in a typical week. Then, you can keep the tips you like to use in your planner routine and change up the tips you don’t like. Here we go, meet Johnny Rocket…

MONDAY

After being tired, but before the day starts, I schedule out my week: work meetings, dinner dates, my daughter’s soccer practice. To ensure I include all my important events, I cross reference my annual page and monthly pages and copy over anything happening this week. I also have a coffee (that doesn’t involve the planner, but felt important to mention).

After some scheduling, I flip to my to-do list from last week and erase any old items (but not before checking off completed tasks to give myself some celebration motivation going into this week). Since it’s still the beginning of my week, I don’t add to my to-do list just yet — there’s too much open to change.

Here’s a photo of our star, Johnny Rocket (and definitely not Vince from our product team).

TUESDAY

Disaster strikes! I realize that my entire Wednesday needs to be rescheduled for a teacher-parent conference day I forgot about. Fortunately, I can erase my Wednesday plans and move them to a different day (it’s okay I wasn’t looking forward to lunch with Sasha anyway). As I erase, I hear a coworker whisper their amazement at my positively productively erasing tricks.

Now that my week has found some footing, I time block the rest of my week (in addition to the key events already scheduled in). This gives me a chance to check back with my monthly goals to ensure I’ve built in time into my calendar to progress towards at least one goal. Even if it means I need to make sure I have 30 minutes before bed to do some yoga.

Scheduling late night yoga doesn’t require dumbbells (or this many planners), but it’s a still a nice photo.

WEDNESDAY

My Rocketbook planner comes with me to the parent-teacher conference today. I flip to the lined pages in the back to take notes on any key points (like that the class midterms are in two weeks — which I’ll schedule into my planner later). If I get bored — let’s face it, when I get bored — I’ll turn to the dot-grid pages and doodle a little.

At home, I’ll add any important school dates to the annual pages, as promised. I’ll use my evening to check my work schedule for tomorrow, as I make my return. I spend a few minutes preparing for an y early key meetings before starting my night routine.

Click to get suggestions for morning and night routines that will enhance your day.

THURSDAY

Back to work with my Rocketbook planner. A coworker invites me to a Saturday lunch, so it goes into my weekly calendar. My thoughts of weekend plans, though, are interrupted by a realization that I promised to make dinner tonight. Quickly I transform one of my to-do lists into a master chef’s ingredient list to guide me in my post-work grocery trip.

Arriving at the grocery store, I pull out my planner and scan the ingredient list with the Rocketbook app which uses Smart Lists to create a digitized, interactive to-do list. Then I head inside, leaving my planner in the car. As I shop, while ignoring looks from each passerby mistaking me for a master chef, I pull out my phone to reference the ingredients. Place the item in the cart, check off the list item on my phone, on to the next ingredient. Tonight's shrimp and asparagus risotto would make Emeril jealous.

Click for tips and tricks to Smart Lists in the Rocketbook App.

FRIDAY

Whew, I made it. Friday is a typical day at work. I continue time blocking out my week, and start putting in any important events for next week into the monthly calendar.

On Friday evening, we go out for dinner. At the restaurant, the kids are bored with the crayon choices at the restaurant. Fortunately, I’ve still got my Rocketbook and Pilot Frixion colored pens in my work bag. Out they come for a few peaceful minutes of sketching on the dot-grid pages until dinner arrives. Day 5: success. Two more days of planning left.

Check out our free Rocketbook coloring pages!

SATURDAY & SUNDAY

Most of my Saturday doesn’t require any planning. I do check the planner throughout the day to make sure I don’t mess any plans, like the lunch with a coworker I planned on Thursday.

It’s good to give myself (and my planner) a break on the weekends, so I make sure to focus on my activities, rather than planning more activities.

I usually spend Sunday doing my weekly cleaning around the house. That momentum gets carried over into my planner as I erase any notes or plans that have passed or that are no longer relevant! Now, I’m ready for Monday to get started all over again for another week.

See the 10 secret ways to erase a Rocketbook notebook (and planner).

A New Day For Planning

The Beatles needed 8 days a week, but you only need 7 days to amp up your planning skills with Rocketbook. If you’re looking for even more daily organization from a reusable notebook, check out our new Everyday Planner which has weekly and daily templates for you to keep track of all your plans, notes, and to-dos.

Click for a close up look of the Rocketbook Everyday Planner pages.

The Rocketbook Everyday Planner offers more freedom for your days, weeks, and months of planning.

Regardless of what you use to stay organized 24/7, remember that every day is a new opportunity for productivity. So if Monday doesn’t go your way, there’s always Tuesday. Or Wednesday. Or next week, or — you get it.

Follow us: TikTok | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | YouTube

--

--