Your Journey to Success Starts Here

Not an ordinary story

Dr Ahmet
The Life Learner
4 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Image by Custom Tuned AI model by Author

You’ve probably heard it too.

In fact, you know the character of the story.

Our hero wrote a letter, and his entire life changed.

If this were a movie script, we could easily say he wrote it to his past self.

Since it’s a real-life story, isn’t it more fitting to say he wrote it to himself now?

Yes. He wrote a letter to himself.

Hand written text of MJ to himself
Handwritten text of MJ to himself

I am changing my name from now on. My new name will only be two letters: MJ. I want a brand-new character, a brand-new appearance. I must become a completely different person. I never want people to think of me as the 6-year-old kid singing ABC again. I must be a brand-new, incredible actor, singer, and dancer who will shock the world. I am changing my entire strategy. I will never give interviews again; I won’t be seen around; I won’t be easily accessible. I will be magical, a perfectionist, a master researcher, and teacher. I will be better than the greatest artists. My training must be flawless. For this, I will work with the best trainers and get the best education. I will research and dig until I find what I need. I will work to perfect the entire entertainment world and go beyond the furthest point ever reached.

How would we know if this letter changed his life?

May we call him successful with these?

-Released in 1982, the album sold over 66 million copies.

-Won 13 Grammy awards, breaking the record by winning 8 Grammys in a single night.

-Billboard Hot 100 list 13 times.

-Known worldwide for his dance moves (the most prominent spoiler).

-More than 20 Guinness World Records.

-According to Forbes, his annual earnings were 125 million dollars in 1989.

-Even after his death in 2009, he earned over a billion dollars.

Who is this MJ?

Yes, you guessed it right.

Michael Jackson.

Image by Custom Tuned AI model by Author

Maybe Michael Jackson wasn’t born special. (Here is the story of one born special)

Was the magic in the letter?

The letter is, in essence, a personal manifesto.

You know Edison’s quote about his journey to invent the light bulb.

When a journalist asked him, mocking him, about his failures, he replied:

“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

Yes, my dear friend, it’s the same story.

Belief.

More accurately, it is about believing in yourself, your goal, and your success.

The written manifesto is the documented form of this belief weapon.

Everyone has a story. I have a story, too.

I was always different from my friends around me. I was constantly in search of something.

Image by Custom Tuned AI model by Author

I couldn’t settle in my first profession. This profession was a dream for many. Guaranteed and regular income.

I would always tell my friends we need to do something.

Saying these words repeatedly, my second significant profession is on the scene. The top authority in the accounting system of a major company.

Yes, as you might guess, that wasn’t enough either.

I did a Ph.D. in Finance.

In 2030, I will become a professor.

I tell everyone I meet that I will become a professor in 2030.

This is my manifesto.

If you want a perfect life and a brand-new personality, there’s only one person you should go to.

Only one person will help you.

Yes, it’s you.

Dear reader, I believe in you.

Believe in yourself, too.

I want to end with three things that will be helpful on your journey to success.

Imagination: Imagine achieving what you want. Live with this dream. After a while, you will realize you believe in this dream and that its realization is just a matter of time.

Frequency: Distance yourself from people who don’t believe in your dream or share your excitement. Don’t let these people poison your future. When you are with people with the same frequency, you will realize how worthwhile life is.

A sufficient amount of failure: You must love failure to progress on the path to success. Failure is our most excellent teacher as long as we learn from our mistakes. Think about how you started walking as a baby. How many times did you fall. Remember that day when just standing up was considered an achievement. You learned to walk, run, and ride a bicycle.

Believe in yourself; there is nuclear power within all of us.

And you hold the key to yours.

If you enjoy what you’re reading, remember to clap and follow me on Medium. You can also subscribe to receive email notifications for new stories.

Sharing is caring 😉

--

--

Dr Ahmet
The Life Learner

Author | Writer | Writes about writing, self-development, life lessons, and more..