Coffee Culture has hit Home. | Life in Picture

Farrel Nobel
The Light Room
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2016
Shades. f/2.5, 1/80 sec. ISO 250

I’m back in Indonesia now and am surprised by how some things have not changed around here. My favorite noodle place still stands in the same place and it’s still as empty as ever. Sometimes, I think I’m one of their very FEW repeat customers.

Some people treat is as an art. f/2.8, 1/30 sec. ISO 250

But I was also surprised at how much trends have changed. I haven’t been back for a solid 5 and a half months. Coming back I realize that those small sole-proprietor owned coffee shops are the new fad that’s taken my neighborhood and other hoods around by storm. Check out some of the pictures.

Experimenting with black and white. f/2.8, 1/800 sec. ISO 250

One of the things I should note about my home town is that it’s not really… photogenic. But hell, these coffee shops make great opportunities for flat lays.

Just some examples. P.S the coffee on the right looks a little gross doesn’t it? (left) f/2.8, 1/25 sec. ISO 250. (Right) f/3.2, 1/60 sec. ISO 250
One of the better ones. f/3.2, 1/40 sec. ISO 250

In my time here, I’ve done some other stuff besides hang out at coffee shops and I’ll probably put that in a different post. I wanted this post to be more focused and have a clear theme unlike my older posts. There will definitely be more photos regarding this topic to come and I’ll post them in due time.

And lastly, a picture of me.

Going for that vintage/faded look. f/2.2, 1/40 sec. ISO 250

As always, all pictures here have been taken with my Canon G7X and all (if not most) of the photos have been edited with Adobe Lightroom. Hope you guys enjoyed the pictures and checkout Lightroom to view more photos.

Oh, and follow me on Instagram too!

--

--

Farrel Nobel
The Light Room

Graphic Designer focusing in Branding & Identity. Follow me on Dribbble | Behance | Twitter -> @farrelnobel