Lincoln Cathedral Cafe

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
13 min readJul 21, 2021
Lincoln Cathedral Cafe located in what was once the Dean’s residence
Lincoln Cathedral Cafe located in what was once the Dean’s residence

Where to start, lack of character, lack of ambience, outsourced, disgusting coffee, piss-poor service.

But let us start at the beginning.

The Cathedral had a lovely tea shop, wonderful ambience, back of the Chapter House, off the cloisters. It closed, the staff fired.

I ventured into the garden a few weeks ago, a couple of days before they opened. I walked in out of curiosity, to be shouted at as soon as I stepped over the threshold, Get Out.

Visitors walking in the garden came across to me and said they were appalled at the way I had been treated.

They went on to say were disgusted at the closure of the tea shop and said it was yet another example of how the Cathedral squandered money. I think if they knew how much they would be even more appalled. I have heard £7 million mentioned. Whether true or not I do not know.

A couple of weeks later I looked again, now open. Very busy. I was told has been much busier earlier.

I looked last week, thought I would try a coffee. We stop serving at four-thirty close at five. It was a little after four thirty.

Why, long daylight hours, warm weather, visitors milling around, why close at five?

Today, try again.

Fountain in the garden not working. Was it my imagination, was it not working when I was ordered to Get Out?

The fountain a monstrosity, unbelievably ugly. This could have been rough hewn limestone, as used in the construction of the Cathedral, smooth on the inside, lined with slate. There would be some leakage. Surround with a circular channel to collect the water. The fountain full of dirty water, ideal breeding ground for mosquitoes.

Lining the footpath, low lamps, grey, less than foot high, ideal trip hazard.

Outside what was the Dean’s residence, tables and chairs in a sun trap. Ideal spring or autumn but not mid-summer, no parasols, no shade.

Inside, noisy, very hot.

Service abysmal. At least four waiting staff came to the table to take order. Completely disorganised.

Long wait for order. How long does it take a tea and coffee when they were not busy?

I went to inquire. I was lied to, told only eleven minutes had elapsed. I looked at the receipt which was stamped with the time. At least fifteen minutes had elapsed. Maybe they cannot count.

I asked why was there no parasols? We have only been open three weeks and did not know it was going to be hot. This is like saying we did not know summer happens.

I asked of the coffee they used. Did not know. I asked when I looked in a couple of weeks ago when I looked in when busy. I asked of the staff brewing the coffee. Did not know. How can be brewing coffee and not know?

Catering supply coffee.

I looked at the cakes. Very unappetizing. Looked like factory cakes.

I returned to my table.

No air conditioning. Very hot.

I then realised time on the receipt was when paid, not when ordered. Order taken, then sometime later asked to pay. Should that not be when finished? The norm elsewhere.

Drinks eventually arrived, Maybe half an hour after ordering.

What was wrong? Where do I start? Cup size far too large, looked as though carpet bombed with chocolate by a Lancaster bomber. I took one tiny sip, too hot, tasted as disgusting as it looked, cheap low quality catering supply coffee.

I took it back. En route was intercepted by a waitress. I explained what was wrong. She started to argue with me. It is never wise when you clearly know nothing about coffee to argue with a customer who does, especially when have just demonstrated how not to make coffee. I have had worse but this was pretty bad.

A young man then came to the table. Said I had complained. Did not introduce himself or explain who he was. I asked and learnt acting manager.

I explained what was wrong. He did at least listen. Unlike the waitress who threw a tantrum, not in my pay grade.

He then asked what would I like to drink? I had assumed a drink on its way. Did I really want cheap crap catering supply coffee? No. By now I had had enough. I asked for a glass of water and a refund. A glass of water was brought and a refund.

Near the table was what looked like a drinking fountain. It dispensed soap. I explained this should be clearly labelled as to what what it was. I can see a child, once worked out how to operate, white froth pours out, will think it a drink. It is foamed soap. An accident waiting to happen. I explained to the acting manager what appeared to be a drinking fountain should be clearly labelled. He claimed it was. No, all it had was the name of manufacturer or supplier, no explanation what it was. I assumed to be a drinking fountain, a child would assume the same.

And the tea? The cup as large as the teapot.

The staff were at least wearing masks which is more than can be said of the adjacent gift shop, where no staff wearing masks. I do not recall name badges worn.

Large posters in the café and gift shop promoting concerts. No mention of services in the Cathedral.

Menu on a plastic laminated sheet. Ideal for coronavirus transmission. I saw no staff cleaning.

We left several minutes before four. Staff were already vacuuming the floors.

When arrived mid-afternoon, not busy, less than a third full. When left, almost empty.

The ambience that of a station waiting room.

A classic example of outsourcing.

If they actually cared and clearly don’t, they would have sourced coffee from Seven Districts, employed a competent barista, bags of the Lincoln Imp coffee on sale in the gift shop.

If visiting Lincoln Cathedral, walk into Bailgate if wishing to eat as spoilt for choice. Try Bailgate Deli, falafel and salad excellent, Sanctuary on The Bail, their backyard a hidden gem. Or Elite on the Bail for fish n chips. Or if a nice day, sit on Castle Hill with a sausage roll from Redhill Farm shop. If wish for a coffee or tea, walk through Lincoln Castle and out the other side to Stokes at The Lawn where on a hot day it is pleasant to sit and relax outside. For the very best coffee, walk down Steep Hill into the city centre and try Madame Waffle or Coffee Aroma. Also in Bailgate a very popular ice ream parlour, always a queue. On the way down Steep Hill, Bells serves ice cream, a traditional tea shop and unlike Lincoln Cathedral Cafe has charm and character. Another place of charm and character, Pimento a vegetarian restaurant half way down Steep Hill, teas served are from Imperial Teas opposite. And not forgetting Bunty’s Tea Room a little further down Steep Hill.

Support local businesses, money is circulated within the local economy.

I walked down into the town sat outside Madame Waffle with Japanese iced coffee. Highly recommended on a hot day.

There are plans to use the café for meetings and conferences. I cannot think of a less suitable venue. And this has nothing to do with the catering, which is easily solved by ditching the current contractor. The rooms are very noisy, in the summer too hot. It would be nigh impossible to follow any conversation or comprehend a speaker.

Lincoln Cathedral Cafe located in what was once the Dean’s residence

reaction of outsourcing company and further thoughts

Oh dear, when working in hospitality and poor service is highlighted, it is wise to address the concerns raised and improve, not launch a histrionic attack on the messenger, that is of course if wish to improve and care about reputation.

Two attacks, interesting both exactly the same time.

The attacks made, one by an employee, one by the owner of the outsourcing company, shows they have a very long way to go in customer service.

Is this really who Lincoln Cathedral wish to outsource to? Do they not care about reputational damage?

Stokes did an excellent job when they ran Stokes at The Collection. I would recommend hold discussions with Stokes, if they are interested, ditch the outsourcing company.

Or with 200 Degrees, a regional chain with experience of running coffee shops serving food.

Peppercorn rent, share the profits, Stokes at Lincoln Cathedral or 200 Degrees at Lincoln Cathedral. The big difference, unlike the outsourcing company they have a reputation they would not wish to lose.

When opening a new restaurant or coffee shop, only have a couple of weeks to establish reputation. If acquire a bad reputation, very difficult to recover from.

I wonder what Gordan Ramsey would make of this? Person who makes the coffee satisfied with adequate, owner when hears of criticism instead of rectifying the problems highlighted and apologising, says don’t come back?

I wonder if their other outsourcing operations are this bad: Nene Park and Nottingham Castle?

I contrast with a coffee shop in Larnaca. Something not quite right, the coffee not as good as it should have been. We sat and discussed to try and resolve what was wrong. I arranged a roastery to ship coffee beans.

Molly McGovern m.o.mcgovern@outlook.com

Hello, I would just like to say that I am the barista that told you your coffee had been ordered 11 minutes prior, which was not a lie. It was politely explained to you that your coffee was the one currently being prepared, to which you responded to my supervisor with a rude tone. After this, you were served a perfectly adequate cappuccino, to which you complained had chocolate sprinkles on top, common practice in many cafes/coffee houses. You then proceeded to rudely argue, very closely, in my supervisors face about our service, which again, was perfectly adequate. If you wasn’t so rude to staff on the day of your visit then you may have received compensation for your order. If our service was so bad, you should not have stayed as long as you did.

It actually helps to get facts correct.

I chased up tea and coffee to see why it was taking so long. Lied to when told 11 minutes. I checked time on receipt, which was longer than eleven minutes, and also as I have noted, that was time when asked to pay waiting staff who came to the table, it was not the time when ordered.

Looking at time-stamped photos when entered and ordered, when coffee arrived, around twenty minutes.

I asked of the coffee used. Did not know.

Coffee served was adequate, sums up the lack of professionalism. Every coffee served should be excellent, not only excellent, but consistently so.

Requires decent machine and grinder, quality beans, skilled barista. Failed on the last two criteria. If the quality of the coffee beans anything to go by, probably failed on the first criteria too, I did not check the equipment used. When I see lack of investment in equipment, it tells me do not care what they serve and follows poor quality coffee and unskilled staff.

The coffee beans have to be freshly ground for each cup, accurately weighed. I did not watch the preparation, but I doubt best practice was followed.

No self respecting baristas who has a modicum of pride in their work, would let pass the disgusting coffee I was served.

There is a reason cafes and corporate chains dump chocolate on a coffee. It is to mask the poor quality of the coffee served.

A coffee shop, asks first. A reputable coffee shop that cares, would not ask, as they would not dream of carpet bombing their coffee with chocolate.

To claim the service was adequate, again sums up up the lack of professionalism.

But if wish to make oneself a laughing stock.

Maybe visit a coffee shop where they take a pride in their coffee, observe and learn.

I was not rude to anyone. I was intercepted when bringing the coffee back, asked what was wrong. When I explained what was wrong, I was the one who was attacked. It never does to repeat hearsay, especially when that hearsay is not true.

Nor was I in anyone’s face. It was the waitress who approached me. I was headed to return my coffee to the counter. We are in the middle of a Third Wave of coronavirus, I am careful not to stand close to anyone. I am strongly opposed to relaxation of coronavirus restrictions.

I then had an amicable conversation with a young man who was acting manager who asked what was wrong, and unlike the waitress with an appalling attitude who argues when a customer highlights something wrong, politely listened.

The cost of the coffee was refunded. As would have been clear if had read and comprehended what had been written, or checked with acting manager.

No sense of irony. There a long time due to appalling service.

Raj Remgi Raj.regmi@meadowbrownrestaurants.com

I think you should tone down. We are all trying we have some incredible barista who are very proud. You were very rude and unbearable. I think if you have an issue you don’t need to come back. We don’t need people who have no respect for others.
We are proud about our coffee and the supplier we use and how the money goes st to the grower.

Lacks courtesy to give full name, fails to mention is owner of outsourcing company. I wonder why?

Was not there, at best acting on hearsay or simply making it up. A good resume to work at The Scum.

Not there, therefore does not know what was served, even less was privy to any conversation.

If proud of what was served, abysmally low standards.

Incredible baristas. Really. Do not even know when asked what coffee they are using, clueless on how to brew coffee.

If you have issues, don’t come back. I am sure Lincoln Cathedral will be happy to learn this is how the owner of their outsourcing company treats visitors to their newly opened café.

And to repeat, I was not rude to anyone.

The only person who was rude, was the waitress who intercepted me and did not like when told what was wrong with the coffee. All other staff were pleasant and polite.

Proud of low quality catering supply coffee.

No evidence to back up claims made.

What is the q grade of your coffee, the farm, the region, the variety, altitude grown at, processing? Traceability and transparency is very important in coffee.

The growers are paid. Really, I would not have thought they gave it away.

More important what are they paid? Are they paid less than the cost of production? Are they paid above commodity price? Above Fair Trade price which maintains growers in poverty?

What are you paying for a kilo bag of catering supply coffee?

contrast with service and coffee served elsewhere

A few days later, a cappuccino at Coffee Aroma. Always served with water. It is called service.

My photo does not do justice, for which I apologise, it was taken a few minutes later from coffee being brought to me.

Nor did I have to ask. I sat, waited a few minutes, and a cappuccino was brought to me. Baristas know their clientele.

Coffee always excellent.

Were I to encounter a problem, it would be acted upon, because they care about their coffee, care about their service, care about their reputation.

Investment has been made in people and equipment, skilled baristas who are passionate about coffee, knowledgeable about coffee, take great pride in their work, whether first coffee of the day or the last coffee of the day.

A few years ago, a coffee shop in Guildford, barista handed me a coffee, then took it back. I queried why. Not good enough, and another was brewed.

The following week a coffee at 200 Degrees.

My photo does not do justice, for which I apologise, it was chucking it down with rain, late afternoon, light fading.

The barista who served me was coming off shift, about to leave to catch a train to go home, her last coffee of the day, but she did not take the attitude, adequate is perfectly acceptable. She did her best, as she knew an excellent coffee would be appreciated by a discerning customer.

As with Coffee Aroma or Madame Waffle, efficient service, excellent coffee, a guest coffee from Rwanda.

There is a difference between adequate, could not care, and caring about the service and coffee served, taking a pride in what is served.

There is a world of difference between someone who presses buttons on a machine and calls themselves a barista and someone who is a skilled barista, who takes account of the nuances of the coffee they serve, who when asked, knows what coffee they are serving.

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.