I took a walk alone

Jess Semaan
Mission.org
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2016

I took a walk alone

But the truth is I was walking with an army

Each soldier fighting an enemy

Each warrior telling me a crazy story

I took a walk alone

But the truth is I was walking with a village of sorrow

Each farmer carrying the pain passed on through centuries

Each elder reminding me of the weight over my aching body

I took a walk alone

But the truth is I was walking with everybody

The father who is walking across the Syrian border knowing he might never look back

The lover who is walking towards her partner knowing she might regret

I took a walk alone

But the truth is I never took a walk

Because the I is only a fantasy

Because I was only watching a movie

If you like what you read, please give it a ❤ below

Stay in touch by subscribing to my bi-weekly newsletter here, or following me on instagram

--

--