How to Reclaim Your Power as a Woman

You can do it, trust me.

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2021

--

how-to-reclaim-your-power-as-a-woman
Photo of author

When I decided to stop caring about what people thought of me, I experienced an internal shift. I’m not really sure what led me to the point of realizing that not everyone I meet will like me, and that’s perfectly fine. Being raised in a society that guides women to be a people pleaser definitely took its toll on me. I was always taught to be polite, friendly, and kind, even when people were rude to me. Being ladylike meant sitting with my legs closed, smiling to anyone who spoke to me, and only speaking when prompted.

And at 24, the last thing I want to do is conform to the patriarchal society that tells me how I should live my life. I’ll curse, sit with my legs wide open, and give dirty looks to men who stare at me when they shouldn’t be. Recently I decided to reclaim my power. Honestly, I’m grateful for this transitional period in my life.

It becomes harder to grow when you feel judged by others and the world around you. I try to avoid social media for that reason. I get no benefit from being bombarded by superficially perfect women who I could never physically replicate, nor would want to. And a part of taking my power back is in small daily habits and rituals like deciding I don’t want to wear makeup or put on a bra.

--

--

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉