Tu Toxicity, Es Mi Toxicity

Is it possible to escape all negativity?

Ghina Zaidi
The Orange Journal
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2021

--

A therapist in white shirt is sitting in the middle of the room. There are two women and two men sitting in front of her in formal attire. All four of them are screaming and shouting at each other unable to agree. The women are holding their head in distress and the doctor seems to be calming the situation.
Photo by Anthony Shkraba from Pexels

I read all these articles on the internet, motivational videos, affirmation videos, and I try my best to stay positive. I want to keep moving forward in life, irrespective of the setbacks, the negativity, and the toxic people around me. Honestly, I’m an optimistic person myself and I believe that life is too short to worry about things.

But the negativity always affects me.

My brain keeps spiraling on the thoughts of …

  • Why someone is being rude?
  • Why did they talk to me like that?
  • Did I do something wrong?
  • Should I say sorry?
  • Am I wrong?
  • Why did they just humiliate me publically?

I’ll push these thoughts away with the best of my strength because guess what? The default settings of my brain always answer with —I am not a people pleaser.

And I think that my brain is so right in thinking all of this! My brain is a logical machine that I am proud of. I listen to it and I focus on the people whom I LOVE, who LOVE ME!!

Toxicity

These toxic ones are always the “spare people” not the “main people”. …The ones who are not so important but we still have them lying around. They can affect our main people. They try to sabotage our relationship with our main people. This is always the reason for concern for me in the end.

Their toxicity leaks into my relationships with other people. They disrupt a perfect group conversation just being there, not being responsive to me because “oh! they don’t like me”.

I am currently learning to just deal with it, focus on positivity and try to be productive, majorly. As I lean into being productive, their “ill behavior memory” always creeps back. I believe they just radiated a part of their toxicity to me. Their toxicity becomes my toxicity. It just sticks to me and…

It is what it is.

Tu toxicity becomes mi toxicity.

If you liked my article, please support me and buy me a ko-fi here. It would mean the world to me as the MPP is not available in my country. Thank you.

Connect with me on Twitter. Send your feedback.

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here.

--

--

Ghina Zaidi
The Orange Journal

Multi-Passionate Freelancer! writing poems and articles about the bitter society. Optimistic, detail-oriented. Writing for the love of it.