Five Reasons To Sell Your Digital Products on Gumroad

The simplest passive-income-generating online storefront ever

Karen Banes
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I’ve written before about how creating and selling digital products can be a great form of passive income for online creators. This week I’ve been re-vamping my Gumroad storefront, and adding a few new products.

Gumroad might not be the first choice of many digital product creators, but it has a lot of advantages that make it the perfect choice for me. My word for this year is ‘simplify’, and there are few online platforms as simple and straightforward as this one.

Here are the reasons I choose to sell my digital products through Gumroad.

1. No up-front costs

Unlike alternatives like Etsy, there’s no up-front costs whatsoever to set up your digital products for sale on Gumroad. It’s free to make a creator account, and then you can simply start adding products.

Gumroad take a commission of 10% on every product, so you’ll have to factor that in when you set your prices. There may also be credit card or PayPal fees (get all the details here) but if your products don’t sell, you don’t pay.

2. Easy and intuitive to set up

--

--

Karen Banes
The Partnered Pen

Freelance writer sharing thoughts on life, society, creativity, and productivity. https://changetheworldwithwords.substack.com