The Friend Who Disappeared Like a Ghost

When someone you were close with falls off the face of the Earth

Ryan Fan
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Pradamas Gifarry on Unsplash

There were some nights when we texted and chatted until 3 a.m., lamenting our feelings of hopelessness and pain. We were both in tough situations, sorting out who we were in our early 20s and knowing the other person would pass zero judgment on us and keep everything confidential. I helped her out through some hard times and situations, and she helped me out through my hard situations. I felt like she was someone you could talk to about anything.

She was a really good friend. Although we fell out of touch from time to time, we could always count on each other in times of need. Whenever we had time off from school, we tried to link up with our friend group and hang out. I would like to think we both valued each other’s friendships and listening ears, and obviously, our friend groups intersected, so whenever we were all in the same place, we would meet up and hang out.

I invited her to my wedding, and she didn’t respond when I sent a reminder. She RSVP’d that she would come, so I assumed she saw the invitation to be able to RSVP. On the actual day, she didn’t show, which stung based on the financial expenditures it cost to have each person there, and I did get a little resentful. I texted to see if she was alright, and…

--

--

Ryan Fan
The Partnered Pen

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8