Why You Should Never Use Fiverr Or Upwork

Let’s sit down and chat for a moment about freelancing

Jim Woods
The Partnered Pen
Published in
4 min readNov 23, 2020

--

Photo by Joshua Ness on Unsplash

I’ve been freelancing for over six years now. So I’ve seen the highs and the lows. From working with incredible clients to the not so great clients as I mentioned in this recent post.

I want to save you tons of frustration and hopefully share some insights with you to help you improve if you’re already freelancing or if you’re thinking about freelance writing in the future.

First off, it’s important to note that every business relationship is a two-way street. While there are definitely bad clients out there, some freelancers are not professional. These individuals are often not reliable. Some of them might even disappear, which makes clients view freelancers as completely replaceable at any given moment.

I know it’s probably not intentional. Maybe you’re overwhelmed. But you must accept responsibility for the things you control. Sometimes you might have scope crawl or just an unreliable client. I get it!

No matter what happens, you must hold yourself responsible.

Sometimes you’ll have a bad client. If you know a client is a bad client, don’t assume you can change them. Don’t assume things will get better. Meet your professional obligations, and then tell…

--

--

Jim Woods
The Partnered Pen

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com