Life at 27, Sober, & Living In My Parents Basement

794 Days of Water: A Sobriety Story

On December 28th, 2017, at 26 years old, I went sober. In my first year, I was resilient in my committment to confront myself and grateful for those who supported me. Now, with the fog lifted from over my hindsight, I recognize those same people are the ones I hurt when drinking, and I owe them apologies.

Richie Crowley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
14 min readMar 3, 2020

--

AI-Generated image made by RICKiRICKi with DALL·E 2

That’s weird, I thought I finished the glass of water before I went to bed.

I thought to myself as I woke to damp bedsheets.

I must have fallen asleep before I finished it and knocked it over during the night.

Let me check.

I was wrong.

I peed the bed.

I wish that this was a cute story from the archives of my childhood but it’s not.

This was me at 26, waking up in a bed in my childhood room at my parent's house.

Here I was, on a Sunday morning carrying bedsheets past my parents, who were waiting to have family breakfast with me, downstairs to…

--

--

Richie Crowley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.