Don’t Chase Success, Chase Your Desired Lifestyle

Scott Asai
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readNov 23, 2018

Think about your dreams. How far away from them are you now?

What if I told you instead of chasing them focus on what you have currently.

As an entrepreneur I’ve been chasing my dreams since 2006.

At points I achieved my goals. Other times I failed miserably.

But over time I took a step back and asked myself, “what are you really chasing?”

Initially I thought it was an income bracket, luxurious purchases and notoriety. But the real reason I wanted to own a business was for: flexibility. I want control of how I spend my time.

The problem with chasing success is it’s a feeling you’ll never catch. Sure, at times you’ll feel you’ve arrived, but once your goal is achieved it’s on to the next one.

Ambition is a good thing. But to me it’s a means to an end, not an end in itself.

What you’re really chasing is the lifestyle you want to live. Everything you accomplish goes towards creating your way of life.

There are many things I still want: larger home, various trips/vacations, investing in companies, getting sponsored, scaling a business, etc. But sometimes you get so caught up in the chase you neglect what you already have.

I’m thankful for my wife, kids, family, friends, home, health, city, etc. More money would be nice, but if you read my last post that’s not paramount to my happiness.

Define the type of lifestyle you want to live and I bet you’re closer to it than you think. Sometimes if our dreams came true, they actually wouldn’t be all they are cracked up to be.

For example, if you’re married to your career don’t expect to the relationships in your life to be at the same level. On the contrary if you value relationships more than work you probably won’t achieve as much as you’d like.

Success is fleeting. One day she’s here and the next day she’s not.

But if you can piece together your desired lifestyle there’s always room to re-create it along the way. Live with no regrets. Go after what you want unabashedly. Do your best and live with the results.

Once you realize success isn’t the end goal, it opens up new possibilities. It’s hard to live in the present when you’re always looking ahead.

Carpe diem.

It’s freeing to know you can’t control the future, just prepare for it in the present.

So chase your desired lifestyle. It’s more fun.

--

--