How to Work and Travel Abroad

I Got Fired After Raising $300k Crowdfunding on KickStarter

Why I’m happy after making someone else a lot of money

J.J. Pryor
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
16 min readJan 13, 2020

--

A blue sign saying exit and pointing the way out.
Photo by Dustin Tramel on Unsplash

I woke up to the bright morning Taiwan sun feeling refreshed albeit slightly hungover. I had just finished a 10-day business trip to the city of Berlin, Germany, and had an absolute blast.

“LOL dude, can you access your email?” my partner in crime at work Whatsapp’d me.

A strange message to receive on my first day off in months, but it definitely got me a bit concerned. I asked him why he sent that.

“The idiot company secretary hit reply all with a strange message about you but deleted the initial email.”

Now I was more than just a bit concerned. And sure enough, I could no longer log into my work account.

Panic set in.

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

Panic

But I didn’t need to wonder for long. A poorly worded text message soon popped up in my phone from that same company secretary.

--

--

J.J. Pryor
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

3.01 Mil reads | Ex-pat | Ex-Head Product | Ex-cuse Me | PB&T creator | Top 100 Writer | jjpryor.substack.com