A Year Without Social Media

4 Lessons That I Learned During My Quiet Sabbatical

J.O. Phine
The Pub
3 min readJan 19, 2024

--

Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

One year ago, I decided to quit. Free from the distractions, I learned some exciting things about myself.

Quitting

Choosing to quit social media was not simple. For so long, mindlessly scrolling through my feed had become ingrained in my daily routine after work. It was my “me” time.

I slowly realize I was funneling the little amount of energy I had into sometime that was meaningless.

Unplugging was a gradual process. Over the years, I narrowed down the number of social media accounts to just TikTok. Pat on my back, right? Not really. I still spent four or five hours on that one app.

It wasn’t until I entirely separated myself from it all for an entire year that I truly recognized the extent of my addiction.

Lessons Learned

-> I began to prioritize my mental, physical, and spiritual health

Instead of staring endlessly at a screen, I cultivated new hobbies.

I enjoyed reading toe-curling books, composing whimsical poetry, and dancing like the wind.

I had time to deconstruct my beliefs and discover parts of my faith I neglected.

Life was beautiful, even when it was not. Every simple moment brought an appreciation for life.

-> I developed diverse perspectives and independent thinking.

Being immersed in social media distorts reality. It presents biased information as truths.

Sadly, many people disregard independent judgment in favor of mindlessly following the content shared on these platforms.

This passivity in critical thinking is a sneaky retraining of our brain.

Free from the constant pressures of dissenting voices, I had the space to reflect on my values and beliefs.

-> My relationships began to flourish.

Conversations were no longer half-hearted comments made while scrolling through videos.

In the past year, I: found love, had intriguing conversations with strangers, reconnected with family, fell into uncomfortable situations.

I learned to listen. The speaker deserves my undivided attention.

I learned to speak, honestly but with discernment.

-> I reclaimed my ability to concentrate and work efficiently.

The most challenging aspect of this past year was reshaping my brain to concentrate for extended periods.

The constant flow of short media content was insidiously detrimental to my attention span.

I am astonished by the number of hours I squandered chasing quick dopamine bursts.

I improved my focus by relying on productivity advice and tools. Trusted friends held me accountable so I did not give up.

The Return

As I begin using social media again, I am establishing clear boundaries that align with my values and priorities.

I plan to:

  • Limit my usage to a designated time and length on weekdays
  • Detox from social media every weekend
  • Follow accounts that align with my values
  • Turn off push notifications

Social media can be a meaningful addition to my life without it overshadowing the things that hold more value to me.

Hi, I’m J.O. I write about living a healthy, peaceful, and successful existence amid the constant chaos of life. Follow and subscribe to my newsletter to see more of me. Cheers!✨

--

--