Meet our village post box

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readAug 8, 2023
A red British post box. Photo by Marie M on Unsplash

No, not this one, stick with me.

You will notice on this post box the letters ER. This stands for Elizabeth Regina, after the late queen Elizabeth the second.

Now we have a new monarch, King Charles the third. Any new post boxes will have the letters CR, Charles Rex, on them.

I do not know if there is a plan to replace the existing one, but I doubt it as this would cost a huge amount of money.

And not all existing post boxes carry the letters ER.

A brick pots box. The authors picture.

This is our village post box, and you will notice the letters GR on it.

I believe this refers to George the sixth. (1936–1952.)

King Charle’s grandfather.

However, it could go further back to George the fifth. (1910–1936) The king’s great grandfather.

I assume the reason the box is still bearing the initials of a King George is it would have to be demolished to change it. For all I know, it could be a listed building. I may check up on this.

It could be just another little item in our village’s history.

I may write about this history one day.

Watch this space.

More stories from me.

Am I a spirited Englishman or a repressed one?

The things I discovered in America.

Sherlock Holmes where are you?

Just who can you trust?

I owe a Swiss village an apology.

Where have they all gone?

--

--