Where have they all gone?

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2023
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

I grew up in the centre of London in a top floor council flat. This flat overlooked a fairly busy road, and the whole area lacked tree and bushes, so there was very little wildlife living around us.

When I moved to Hertfordshire, our house backed on to a wood. At night it was pitch black, something I was not used to.

In the summer at 4am the dawn chorus would start, and this would grow into a crescendo of different bird song.

Photo by Mikkel Frimer-Rasmussen on Unsplash

At night, if a window was left opened with a light showing, the room would have at least a dozen or so moths fluttering around the bulb.

I left that house many years ago, but the house I now live in is just a few yards from a heavily wooded nature reserve.

Despite the proximity of this woodland, the dawn chorus no longer keeps me awake in the morning. I sometimes hear the sound of one bird, but very little else.

As for moths entering our house, to flutter aimlessly around a lamp; I haven’t seen one this year.

It’s a sobering thought.

What do you think?

Would you purposely lose your child?

What is a Box Ticker?

A German shepherd guards the gents.

When writers block hits, I resort to meandering.

--

--