Psalm 102 — Remember Me

A Ballad

--

A young woman sitting on a rock in a field of rocks. She has her head bowed upon her arms folded on her knees and her eyes are closed.
Image by dima_goroziya from Pixabay

I blend my tears with ashes and
I make a loaf of bread.
My days expire like vapour,
Like smoke, a wisp, a thread.

I am a sparrow, lost, alone
In wilderness astray.
My heart is withered ‘neath the sun;
Oh God, to You I pray!

But You, Oh God, are evermore,
And You remember me.
Although I fade, You will go on,
And You remember me.

Oh, hear my prayer; do not hide
Your face from me, Oh Lord.
Incline Your ear to me and hear
When I feel shunned, ignored.

And I will write for those to come
About Your mercy, God,
That You are hope and faith and love,
Before You I am awed.

For You, Oh God, are evermore,
And You remember me.
Although I fade, You will go on,
And You remember me.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--