Psalm 103 — A Flower of the Field

A Ballad

--

A field of grass and flowers with a person sitting on the ground. The sun shines brightly down on a straw hat with a sunflower on the brim and long brown hair spills out from the hat down the back of a filmy white shirt.
Image by Jill Wellington from Pixabay

Bless the Lord, Oh my soul!
And all that is within me
Bless His holy name!

You satisfy my mouth with good
Like wine and apples sweet,
Renew my youth that I may rise
On eagle’s wings so fleet.

You set a crown upon my head
With love and tender mercy,
For You accept me as I am,
And tell me I am worthy.

Bless the Lord, Oh my soul!
And all that is within me
Bless His holy name!

You know my nature, who I am
And who I’m meant to be.
As far as East is from the West
So far is guilt from me.

I am a flower of the field;
The wind forgets my name,
But You’ll remember me always,
And You’ve erased my shame.

Bless the Lord, Oh my soul!
And all that is within me
Bless His holy name!

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--