Psalm 108 — Awake the Dawn

A Ballad

--

A person wearing a coat turns away from the camera toward the orange sky.
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

O God, my heart is resolute
No matter what may come;
Yet I will sing, rejoice, and praise
Regardless of th’outcome.

Awake, oh lute and harp,
And I will wake the dawn.

Your mercy is above the skies,
Your truth above the clouds,
Your beauty over all the earth,
Your love over the crowds.

Deliver me for I am Your
Beloved. Answer me,
And save me by Your mighty hand:
Oh hear and make me free.

Awake, oh lute and harp,
And I will wake the dawn.

God, You have spoken to give help
For I am useless here,
But with You by my side I’m brave.
And I have naught to fear.

God, You will squash my enemies,
And I will sing Your praise
Regardless what may come my way,
With You all of my days.

Awake, oh lute and harp,
And I will wake the dawn.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--