Psalm 119 ס SAMEK — My Secret Hiding Place

A Ballad

--

A woman wearing a black dress, a silver crown, and a gold necklace stands outside, the wind blowing her long dark hair to one side. The sky is blue behind her.
Photo by Adam Flockemann on Unsplash

You are my secret hiding place;
You are my hope and shield.
Uphold me, God, and keep me safe,
And I won’t be ashamed.

The hypocrites assume Your Name,
And claim their word is Yours;
They hide Your love behind high walls,
And then they lock the doors.

All their piety is false:
Religious trickery;
They do not care about Your love,
But only victory.

Purify my heart like gold,
And raze their works as dross,
For I will wear Your crown, O God:
Polished, gleaming, gloss.

You are my secret hiding place;
You are my hope and shield.
Uphold me, God, and keep me safe,
And I won’t be ashamed.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--