Psalm 121 — My Help Comes From You

A hiker in a yellow shirt and black short with a red backpack stands on a rocky outcropping looking away from the camera toward a vista of blue, green, and grey mountains.
Photo by Lucas Clara on Unsplash

I lift my eyes up to the hills
Where does my help come from?
When life is wild, You keep me still,
You hold me close and warm.
I lift my eyes to the highlands,
And at Your side I ever stand.
I lift my eyes,
I lift my eyes,

You are my shade at my right hand.

I lift my eyes up to the hills;
I know You do not sleep.
Your promises You will fulfill,
And hold me when I weep.
You are my shade at my right hand…
You are my shade,
You are my shade,

The sun and moon at Your command.

I lift my eyes up to the hills
For You preserve my soul,
And keep me from ev’ry evil;
You shield me, keep me whole.
You shelter me; You make me soar…
You shelter me,
You shelter me,

From this time forth, forevermore.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--