Riding the Waiver With Michelle

The Fantasy Football trick you’ll need up your sleeve

Michelle Burrell
The Relish
4 min readSep 1, 2016

--

Hello Relish readers! Do you have champagne wishes and caviar dreams for your NFL Fantasy Football season? Are you tired of missing the playoffs and being on the receiving end of all those victory memes? If so, you better know how to beast those waivers! Every week I’m going to be sharing advice on who to grab off the waiver wire to make your season of injuries and disappointments a little less painful. I may even encourage you to add some players who might not look as hot on your roster as Teyana Taylor did in Kanye’s new video. No guts no glory, folks.

Yes, I am one of those and yes Fantasy is this serious.

For those of you wondering “who the hell is Michelle and why should I take fantasy advice from her?” I’m the back-to-back champ of my Family Fantasy league. My first season of claiming the title, I actually “missed” the draft (nice try, Reggie), and had to rebuild my team through waiver pickups. That was more than 50 acquisitions, thank you very much. Hey, not every pickup was Odell Beckham Jr. Some Matt Asiata pickups were included. Numerous. This season I’m in four leagues.

On game days I can be found sporting a Von Miller jersey, a pair of Broncos socks, and if it’s 4th and goal with 10 seconds left on the game clock I’ll throw on my Broncos sweatshirt for extra juju. Yes, I’m one of those and yes it is that serious.

Enough about me! Join me on my journey for a rare fantasy 3-peat as I spill all the tea on how to beast the waiver wires. Let’s Ride the Waive.

Ryan Fitzpatrick

It’s preseason and it looks like quarterbacks are dropping by the minute. If your league has already drafted, Cam Newton and Carson Palmer are not walkin’ through those waiver wires. Eli Manning isn’t either. Let’s look at a seasoned vet like the Jets’ Ryan Fitzpatrick. Last season Fitz had his best fantasy season yet, averaging 20 points per game. With fantasy studs like Eric Decker and Brandon Marshall in his receiving corps, he should be able to duplicate his 2015 performance. Put in your waiver for Fitz. He’s currently owned in 14% of NFL leagues and 37% of Yahoo leagues.

Dak Prescott

If you plan to stash Tony Romo on the bench for 6–10 weeks, you need Dak! Yes, he is a rookie quarterback. Yes, preseason defenses are about as unique as Instagram’s new story feature. Just hear me out! This preseason Dak Prescott has completed 78% of his passes, thrown for five touchdowns, rushed for two and had no interceptions. Let me say that last part again. No interceptions! Cowboys fans should be rejoicing and waiting on Dak at the door.

With a fellow rookie in running back Ezekiel Elliott (oh, he’s not in this waiver report and I doubt he’s sitting on anyone’s waiver wire) moving the chains, Dak is going to get a lot of red zone action. If you took Romo over an Aaron Rodgers or Russell Wilson, you’re clearly a gambler, so go ahead and roll the dice again. Claim Prescott off the waivers.

Virgil Green

The Mark Sanchez Experiment in Denver has officially come to a close, and Trevor Siemian has been named the starting quarterback for the Broncos. Newbie quarterbacks love their tight ends, folks. Yep, I’m telling you to pick up Virgil Green.

I know Green doesn’t look as sexy on your roster as Travis Kelce and Jordan Reed, but Siemian is going to be looking to check down to his tight end all day. Green caught all of his targets in Saturday night’s preseason game against the Rams, and hauled in a touchdown. With his reliable hands, Green is all set to be the Broncos starting pass catching tight end, and Siemian’s trusty security blanket. It doesn’t hurt that the Broncos still have their Super Bowl defense to create a short field and red zone opportunities for the offense. Green is currently owned in 2.1% of NFL leagues and 13% of Yahoo leagues, but don’t sleep! Put in your waiver for Green before you have to trade to get him.

Waives to Watch This Week

Jesse James, Deandre Washington, Devontae Booker

--

--

Michelle Burrell
The Relish

I love sports, chihuahuas run my life, and I’m currently working on my addiction to hot cheetos.