What Nobody Talks About When It Comes to Long-Term Relationships

The golden rule of forever relationships

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

--

Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

I’ve written a lot about human attraction and the important role it plays when it comes to budding romance. Feeling instant attraction is exciting, novel, and, above all, makes you feel wanted and alive more than anything else. However, in my opinion, something much more rewarding is being in a healthy long-term relationship.

Would you rather have many short-lived honeymoon periods or face life’s challenges with the same special person?

Although long-term relationships bring challenges, I’d rather face them with my love than alone. Why? Because I enjoy not always having to make every decision of everyday life alone. Also, I find it nice to know someone in my life who loves, supports, and appreciates me unconditionally. However, there are challenges that people don’t like to talk about.

Long-term relationships change you.

Nothing is as transformational as love. It can make us believe things we thought were impossible. See, I didn’t think I deserved to be loved before I met my boyfriend. After being lied to and treated poorly, I had given up on love. And then, seemingly out of nowhere, came this guy who, up to this day, serves me coffee every…

--

--

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

Feminist, activist, sister, but above all, hurt. Writing is my path to living life to the fullest.