Having a career mentor: How it helps

Jutismita Hazarika
The Shortcut Talks
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2019

I am Jutismita Hazarika, an Indian expat trying to make the best out of my stay in Finland. This includes finding meaningful engagements, personal as well as professional.

When I landed in Helsinki four years ago, a smooth transition was all I had hoped for. The journey has been anything but that. There was no sense of belonging, to begin with. Then came the language barrier. So I retreated into the world of freelancing where the struggle was minimal and so was the interaction with the outside world. I was living a cocooned life, except for the times when I had to deal with clients. Soon, the isolation got frustrating. It was time to step out of my comfort zone to find myself a new career path. Thus, the real struggle began. A lot of mistakes and rejections followed. But in that process I did one thing right,­­ I found myself a mentor.

I am still halfway through the road to success, but having a mentor has helped me to stay focused. Ultimately, I am the one making decisions for myself but receiving mentorship had a positive impact, especially early on in my career plan. Going out and mingling with my mentor has helped me deal with constructive criticism and stick to the original plan.

Should you too have a career mentor?

Definitely! You should find a mentor even if you have a good job and a plan. A trusted mentor can truly offer solid career support by keeping you self-aware and motivated. With a mentor on board, the ride will always be less bumpy. If your mentor is from the same field of work then you can take technical lessons, brush up your knowledge on latest tools, and also get exposure in the industry. So if you still haven’t figured out how essential it is to have a mentor for your career (especially in a foreign country) or life in general then it is time you did.

Where and how to find a mentor?

There are numerous online networks to find a suitable mentorship arrangement. You need to log in and choose your interests. Suggestions for a mentor will follow. However, if human bonding is important to you, then attending networking events, industry meetups and volunteering are some of the effective ways to find mentors. There are also different mentorship programmes offered by government and non-profit organizations. I met my mentor Alexandra through a Helsinki based non-profit organization. The official mentorship period has been long over but we still meet and work on my career moves.

And how to figure out whether the ‘mentor-mentee’ relationship will be a nourishing one?

I don’t think there is a foolproof way. I didn’t choose my mentor. I was introduced to her by our matchmaker. But I welcomed this match with an open mind. I did not expect magical results and considered it a two-way street. My mentor too wanted to enhance her leadership skills through guiding me.

Moreover, mentorship is not always about benefits but also about your actions. This attitude took the pressure off on my mentor’s part. Since she and I belong to the same age group, we bonded well. Then, we plunged into the networking phase together. Ever since, it has been a teamwork. Every time she introduces me to someone new, I take home more inspiration, fresh ideas and reasons to not give up.

We do not follow a plan but we work on my skill development goals, discuss current job trends and have fun together. This acclimatization process was important for me to consider a career in Finland. It may sound trivial but those fun activities like mushroom picking in the forest and playing mini-golf together have helped a lot.

But is it important for you to be friends with your mentor?

Not always! You can have a very formal relationship and still benefit from it. Not even age matters. A mentor is a guide, facilitator, coach, tutor and trusted companion. But a lifelong friendship can form through mentorship.

Although a professionally successful mentor can give you access to a wide network of beneficial contacts, it is not a prerequisite. A mentor can be anyone who has faith in your abilities. A mentor makes sure you do not give up and is always invested in your success.

Thanks to my mentor, I am much more focused and informed than I was four years ago. Also, I am equally invested in the idea of mentorship and hope to pass on the know-how in future. Today, I have a proper career plan that I wish to pursue in Finland. I am networking my way into the world of Finnish startups which I think is a promising dimension. Getting involved with The Shortcut has also been a milestone in this context.

Do you already have a mentor? Are you planning to find one? Do share your views in the responses section.

--

--