Adam Appich in ‘The Overstory’

Julie Borden
The Shortform
Published in
May 13, 2024
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

This is the twelfth installment in my series of mini tributes to The Overstory, and it’s time for a recap. A roll call of the book’s characters, and a note of curiosity about who I have yet to mention.

I have written about Patricia Westerford’s passion for nature, Mimi Ma’s evolving self, Olivia Vandergriff’s transformative near-death experience, Neelay Mehta’s genius at creating virtual worlds, Nicholas Hoel’s art, Ray Brinkman and Dorothy Cazaly’s turbulent marriage, and Douglas Pavlicek’s debt of gratitude to trees.

That leaves only one character — Adam Appich, the brilliant social psychologist turned activist.

Despite my love for psychology, he is the most enigmatic to me. Admirable, honorable, but opaque.

I will return to him over time. For now, an observation about the world he has at age five:

“…life is trying to say something no one hears.”

--

--

Julie Borden
The Shortform

Social worker, therapist, reader, writer, head-in-the-clouds dreamer, awed by most everything. (She/her) Reach me at JulieBordenLCSW@gmail.com.