SHORTFORM 10-DAY CHALLENGE

How a 10-Day Writing Challenge Could Kickstart Your Writing Career

6 reasons why it’s the best writing course

Duncan Molloy
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readApr 16, 2023

--

A monkey on a wall, looking pensive.
Me, reflecting on the challenge. Photo by Deivid Sáenz on Unsplash

It took me a couple of extra days (I blame my town’s Spring Festivities for that), but I did it. This was the first time I’ve written online.

It feels great.

  1. It gave me an insight into the things I like to write about and encouraged me to write about topics I didn’t even consider before.
  2. I enjoyed engaging with other writers who kindly commented on my pieces, and I on theirs.
  3. I’m becoming more observant of little details in my daily life and that, I am discovering, is where the good stories lie.
  4. Every day I sit down to scribble something, anything, to exercise the writing muscle, building the habit.
  5. It forces you to edit and make every word count.
  6. It got me into the Medium Partner Program after only 9 articles, which I never expected.

Thanks to The Shortform for kicking off my writing journey with a bang!

--

--

Duncan Molloy
The Shortform

Grumpy chef obsessed with travel, language and more recently Bitcoin.