Fear of being JUDGED.

Shikha Sagar
The SocioCommentator
3 min readJul 18, 2020

--

Credits — Getty Images

If you haven’t read my last article, then click here and check it out before you move forward with this one. Rest, you can always skip it anyway!

The truth of being average mixes up so easily with the fear of being judged that you can barely even notice.

The constant fear of being judged in this so-called “our” society is the worst enemy one can ever have. In my case, it is still there in me. Not that huge, not that controlling! But sufficient enough to make me miss opportunities. Sometimes, I’m able to govern it, and sometimes not.

To be very honest, I still skip a heartbeat when the teacher asks me to read all of a sudden in front of the entire class. Sometimes, I’m unable to read. Suddenly I become Ishaan from Taare Zameen Par. In that movie, words and digits had a play, in which Ishaan wasn’t allowed to participate. But luckily, he had a teacher like Ram Shankar Nikumbh. We guys know the rest of the story, let’s quickly jump into mine.

The fear that if I made any mistake, the entire class is gonna judge me, overcomes my little amount of courage to speak. We all have that fear (ignoring the exceptions). Ishaan was too young to have a fear of being judged as that comes gradually with growth. But since childhood, the truth remained the same, that nobody gives a shit about what you do. Of course, they would satisfy their desire to be better by mocking at you. I mean yeah, when I read, I know, almost all ears are towards me. Regardless that they aren’t even listening to me properly, some would still mock if I would go wrong.

AVERAGE + FEAR OF JUDGEMENT. Nothing can be worst for a person with dreams. If your being an average makes them feel superior or better, “bless them that happiness.” But letting them feel superior doesn’t mean you have to feel inferior “to them.” As your competition for betterment is only and only with you.

Now the part we need to understand and accept:

Unlike Ishaan, most of us don’t get and are not going to get such grateful guidance. Then, would our future would go in the dustbin? Well, if you are here on this planet, that too in a human body, your presence is not meaningless. We all are here for a very little time, don’t let that go waste on others. You carry a unique joy that “you” need to see first. Be yourself. Believe in yourself. People don’t have to like you, and you don’t have to care.

Some people will never leave a chance to make fun of you, no matter you had put every ounce of your potential. It isn’t their fault. As you have a fear problem, they have a judging problem. Because most probably, they were once on the same boat. You are the one who needs to work on your phobia. The art of embracing one’s rough edges is not everyone can master. But it’s something everybody “must” learn.

“You could be the juiciest peach in the world, but there would be some people who don’t even like a peach at all.”

Your Rs. 100 motivates us to write more such content and serve you our best. Support us now.

--

--