As a creative, how much do you reveal about yourself?

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal
2 min readJul 15, 2024
Self portrait photograph of a writer in black and white
Self Portrait

By Segun Ade-Martins

As a writer, artist, and designer, there are numerous approaches to expressing myself.

I look at content creators, influencers, and my friends, and I cringe at how revealing their posts are. I put aspects of my personal life out there, but I codify them in my strange language.

I’m not saying that these people are wrong, and I’m right; after all, there isn’t one way to express yourself or document art. And for me, art is life, or at the very least, art is a pathway to connect to life.

A few months ago (not telling you when) I turned 40 (I cringe as I reveal this fact), and I didn’t reveal this information with celebratory portraits of myself.

Again, no knocks to anybody that does this. I have many of my favourite humans that do this, and I’m happy they can do this and feel joy.

I just think a bit differently. Recently, I found out that I have an interesting way of thinking and that people may struggle to tune into my thought process. Truthfully, I didn’t just discover this; I saw it in a new light. It was more like I had an aha moment.

In previous articles, I detailed some of my struggles writing articles, and here I’ll give you my resolution going forward. So, I wrote about working in sprints; unfortunately, I haven’t been able to start on my content cycle.

I was neck deep in some courses in UX design, and I will cover these details in my other blog, UX Writing is Content Design.

Now that those courses are done, there will be more bandwidth to continue looking at the learnings from the media I consume.

Over the last two months, I have seen, watched, and read very interesting things.

Standouts include My Oni Girl, Hell’s Paradise, Blue Period, Page Eight, Confess Fletch, Dune 2, Hypnotic, and others. I finished reading Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih, and now I’m reading The Eye of the World (The Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan.

I went to three exhibitions: Ode to Existence by Imal Silva, which showed at the Turkish Embassy; Reflections of Our Times, a group exhibition that is showing until September 30 at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Atrium Gallery; and The Year of Knots, a solo show by Helen Nzete, at a villa in the BNL compound in Jabi.

In the coming weeks, you will see articles detailing insights from these wondrous sights. Don’t worry, my ears are still active. I’ll bring my strange insights to the music that I’ve been listening to as well.

See you soon…

Originally published at http://thestrangejournal.wordpress.com on July 15, 2024.

--

--

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal

I express myself through words by writing about art, technology, design, fiction, film and poetry. My aim is to uncover the essence of things.