U.S. Digital Service at the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service
5 min readSep 26, 2018

We are excited to be attending Grace Hopper again and to meet all of the fellow women technologists there! Our first attendance to the conference kicked off with a keynote led by former United States CTO Megan Smith about our work, the following year we hosted a Women in Government meet-up, last year we helped officially establish Systers in Government, and this year we have our own booth to connect with you, hear more about the work you are doing, and share the mission of USDS.

Our goals are to share our work in tech in government, network with other women, recruit top talent to come serve with us, and learn from other industry experts. I am proud of the team we have built, and our continued commitment to hire and empower great people. — USDS alum, Kathy Pham, on previous years at Grace Hopper.

Look for members of our team at booth 5953 in the career fair hall. Meet them below and come say hi while you’re at the conference — we want to meet you!

Megan Hopkins, She/Her, Director of Talent Acquisition, U.S. Digital Service at HQ

I lead the Recruiting team at USDS. My team is responsible for finding all of the best talent our country has to offer and getting them hired and deployed on impact projects. While we do a lot of sourcing, we also have an events-centric recruiting model and are out on the road all the time. This will be my first Grace Hopper so I’m looking forward to taking it all in! I’m also nearing the end of my term at USDS so I’m excited to see some of my team one last time and celebrate all the work we’ve done…and convince others we meet at GHC to consider coming along and doing it, too :). USDS has such an incredible, rich story. I’m really excited to share our history and the various ways people can join to make an impact. I’d love to share my experience as I wrap up my time and head to something really exciting (that USDS uniquely shaped and prepared me for)! If you’ve ever wondered how you can serve your country by creating more usable, intuitive, and accessible technology, come see us at booth 5953! (And, if you happen to be a part of the incredible Moms in Tech (MINT) group on Facebook, come say “hi” and put a face to a name!).

Kristian Tran, She/Her, Engineer, Defense Digital Service at Department of Defense

I am currently working on making government better by incorporating industry best practices to projects at the DoD; I’m excited to gather and be in an environment of female technologists to geek out and connect! Come meet our team and learn more about how you can contribute your technical skills to government and make a positive lasting impact.

Melissa Schaff, She/Her, Designer, Digital Service at Veterans Affairs

I’m a UX designer working on Web Brand Consolidation supporting design, research, and content initiatives. I’m also the lead designer and strategist for our team’s work on the Mental Health Executive Order. I’m looking forward to geeking out about my passion for design, technology and government with other amazing female technologists at GHC!

Seema Daryanani, She/Her, Sr. Technical Recruiter, Diversity and Inclusion, U.S. Digital Service at HQ

At GHC, I’m looking forward to bringing on board top tech talent who are looking to make an impact! I am excited about GHC because I have been going for the past few years and it’s a wonderful group of strong women looking to change the world….being in that environment is awe inspiring! Come say hi so I can tell you about the projects many of the engineering, product and design professionals are working on and how the things that they are creating are changing lives of millions of Americans.

Angela Grossfeld, She/Her, Events & Partnership Lead on Talent Team, U.S. Digital Service at HQ

I lead our work to evangelize USDS to potential candidates and partners across America, whether that’s at large tech conferences or smaller roundtable events. I’m excited to be amongst so many amazing, talented people celebrating women in technology. Come say hi at booth 5953 to hear how we’re using design and technology to help real people, and creating momentum through our government!

The best of technology.
The best of government.
And we want you.

We’re looking for the most tenacious designers, software engineers, product managers, and more, who are committed to untangling, rewiring and redesigning critical government services. You’ll join a team of the most talented technologists from across the private sector and government.
If you have questions regarding employment with the U.S. Digital Service, please contact us at usds@omb.eop.gov and visit usds.gov/join.

--

--

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service

The U.S. Digital Service is a group of mission-driven professionals who are passionate about delivering better government services to the public.