An Obligatory, and Very Excited, Welcome to The Victorian Lady’s Column

The whys, wherefores, whatevers, and who cares.

Amy Colleen
The Victorian Lady’s Column

--

Welcome, and thank you for being here.

What’s this all about?

I started this publication as a landing place for stories that fit within a rather specific niche: anything and everything related to women’s history during the 19th century. It’s the time period and topic to which I’ve devoted the most study (primarily in the United States, but I’ve read a great deal about England in those days as well) and I have many articles’ worth of ideas spinning around in my tangled storehouse of writing material.

What will you find here?

Educational yet easy-to-read historical essays on interesting tidbits you might not have learned in school. Stories behind popular songs, inventions, and practices that began in the 19th century. Book reviews and literary analysis. Musings on fashion, everyday clothing styles, and material culture. Living history and historical reenacting. Perhaps even poetry and fiction… stick around and find out!

Though there may be tidbits of historical humor here and there (I find it hard to resist writing with a tongue-in-cheek tone), I’d recommend Jane Austen’s Wastebasket for…

--

--

Amy Colleen
The Victorian Lady’s Column

I read a lot of books & sometimes I’m funny. I aspire to be a novelist, practice at humor & human interest writing, and am very fond of the Oxford comma.