Dancehall and rum

Patrick Foh Jr
The Watering Hole
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2019

I like to think every “sane” person living in Lagos has a love-hate relationship with the city just like I do. Sometimes I’d rather be anywhere but Lagos, other days I think maybe it’s not so bad.

It’s regular Friday evening in Lagos and I’m driving back home, stuck in slow moving traffic on the Lekki-Ikoyi bridge and I spot Bolivar Waterside Bar on the way down.

I’ve been meaning to checkout Bolivar for a while now after seeing pictures of the place on Instagram, so I figured this was a good opportunity to see what the place looked like in person.

Impressions

Bolivar has a vibe about it, the general aesthetic is rather refreshing compared to the general Lagos bar setup. You can see this immediately with the wall murals, cabanas on stilts, and shipping container architecture.

Bolivar Waterside Bar

Service

Service at Bolivar was pretty fast, granted there were only a few people there at the time as the evening was still young by Lagos standards.

I get the cocktail menu and start browsing through, while the DJ plays some fire dancehall tracks while voicing some ad-libs in Patios over the songs. All I can think to myself is; “this place is lit!!”.

I finally decide on a cocktail to order; “Trini to D’Bone”. Yeah! you guessed it, I ordered the “Trini to D’Bone” because I was feeling the West Indian vibe.

Trini to D’Bone

The Cocktail

The Trini to D’Bone has a peachy color and to be honest doesn’t have a great introduction, the first sip felt like a letdown, no feeling, nothing unlike our amiable Motherfucker.

In the end, it turned out to be one of those things that get better every time you try it.

Post-Mortem

I made the rookie mistake of not taking a photograph of the menu, so I couldn’t figure all the constituents of the Trini to D’Bone, even a google search didn’t turn up anything significant, so I guess it’s a Bolivar special. However, my somewhat season tastebuds were able to decipher the following;

The Trini to D’Bone has;

Rum

Lemon Juice

Possibly some coconut water

Cost

The Trini to D’Bone costs NGN 2500.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Verdict

🍸🍸🍸

The Trini to D’Bone gets a 3🍸Watering Hole rating because it doesn’t wow you, it’s just somewhere between mediocrity and greatness.

The Watering Hole Rating System

🍸Don’t do it, bro.

🍸🍸Meh! Wouldn’t be my first choice.

🍸🍸🍸You go dey alright las las.

🍸🍸🍸🍸 Weh done sir, you sabi work.

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 Tuale baba, after you, na you.

Adios!!, till we drink again.

--

--