THE ULTIMATE LIST OF SONG PARODIES

The Day The Music Died

A 4th of July celebration on what could be America’s last birthday

Lon Shapiro
THE WORD IS NOT ENOUGH
4 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

With all due respect to Don McLean, music didn’t die at all in 1959 (the tragic plane crash that killed Buddy Holly, the Big Bopper, and Ritchie Valen), or in 1971, the year he released his historic hit “American Pie.”

And it will probably go on for a long, long time, despite how strongly readers may feel that I’ve killed music with my song parodies, including a great collaboration with Mike Range in which “American Pie” takes on a whole new meaning.

But if you enjoyed my humorous approach to dealing with the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, here’s an easy way to find (and praise) every song.

I have compiled all of my songs by category here in one easy-listening catalog. Trust me, it would not be such easy listening if I tried to sing these songs.

A. Politics & the Pandemic

Who knew the Supreme Court had severe vision problems? Apparently they saw their mission was to defund the Constitution.

--

--

Lon Shapiro
THE WORD IS NOT ENOUGH

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time