The Garstang 10k

My first 10k barefoot road race of 2018.

Chris Maiden
thebarefootrunningcoach
4 min readJan 20, 2018

--

Last weekend I ran my first ever road race, the Garstang 10k! I’d spotted it on Facebook a week or so beforehand and thought it would be a good first race as the route took in some of the roads I regularly run on… I want to run at least one marathon barefoot in 2018, so I had to start somewhere!

The night before… this is getting very real now.

The race was due to begin at 11:00am with a family fun run for kids starting shortly afterwards. Having absolutely no idea how these things work, I arrived at Garstang Community Academy School at 9:30am… being so early actually turned out to be a good plan as there was plenty of time to relax, get my race number and get a much needed coffee.

It’s amazing how quickly the time went and soon enough the venue was a hive of activity. Then reality hit when I saw people warming up in the car park, this is actually a race! I did, for a moment, consider going to join them but it was far too cold out there!

As race time grew nearer, I pinned on my race number and made my way to the start line. There were almost 450 runners taking part, I thought it would be prudent to loiter towards the back of the field where I had a lovely chat with a nice chap in the final minutes before the off… I got really cold, really quickly and couldn’t wait to get going.

My view from the back of the pack.

I don’t think many folk realised I was barefoot at the start, there were a few odd glances but that was all. A friend in the start line crowd shouted out, “Get some shoes on!!!” as I passed by, yep, thanks for that!

Thank you Stephanie, well done to you too!

I soon got into my stride and starting passing other runners, there was a stretch of quite challenging tarmac so I took that bit really easy. A race marshal spotted me approaching, I don’t know if he realised I heard him as he breathed out, “You’ve got to be joking…”, nope, I really am running barefoot!

It was about at this point that the first of the youngsters on the 2k race came flying past, one simply said, “Oooooouch!” as he passed me!

Once I’d got past the rough tarmac, I started to open up a little, I felt really comfortable with my pace and was enjoying every minute of it. When I hit the roads I regularly run on, it actually just felt like I was on one of my normal runs … except 450 people had decided to run with me today.

And soon it was done! I finished in 56:00.63, in 293rd place so just off the podium this time. 9:09/mi pace is good for me over that distance. My feet felt great and I knew I had run the best I could. I’d been slightly anxious beforehand that I’d get carried away, that I’d get caught up in the excitement of the race and sacrifice form for speed, I’m so pleased I was able to run at the edge of (and not beyond) my capability.

Thanks to my only fan, I got a photo of me approaching the final climb to the finish line.

I had a lovely chat with a couple of folk at the finish line and then headed home.

I’m really looking forward to taking part in more races throughout 2018!

--

--