The Dad Hammer Times, 6/15/2020

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJun 15, 2020

--

“Anyone who tells you fatherhood is the greatest thing that can happen to you, they are understating it.” ―Mike Myers

If there is anything I am learning more and more about, it is the importance of being a father. I have learned so much about myself, the world, and my hope for the future through being a father.

I have become more humble, patient, and understanding than ever before. The world looks different now that I have daughters, I see the injustice and privilege that I have where they may not. And I look for hope in every circumstance, not for me, but for them.

This Week’s Stories

Only one post this week, but it is a good reminder for parents with young children. Remember our kids will only be little once. And while every state in life comes with its challenges, each stage comes with its blessings too.

Check out this week’s story, share it, highlight it, clap for it, and let our writers know what you think!

Enjoy Them While They Are Little

By: Jack Heimbigner

Every parent struggles with being a parent. When life gets overwhelming and there are a million things to do, we can spiral out of our minds and forget how amazing it is that we are privileged to be parents.

READ MORE!

Dad Jokes

“Why couldn’t the bicycle stand up by itself? It was two tired.”

I told that to my daughter who is sitting beside me this morning. She automatically laughs when I say anything that sounds remotely like a joke. Then she asked:

“Why was it too tired? Did he go for a long bicycle ride…”

Weekly Prompt

This week, for writing prompts, I was thinking about the things we do with our kids. If you have more than one child and they are a little older than a baby, you have probably established some fun events and activities you like to do. For example:

With my oldest daughter, we like to make up stories, write them down, and share them with people.

My youngest daughter and I are far more into going places together, talking to people, and trying new foods.

For this week’s prompt, share stories about events and activities you do with your kids. Why do you like doing them? How did they get established? How do they grow your bond with your children?

We look forward to reading your stories and as always, feel free to submit anything else as well!

Connect with The Dad Hammer Pub

The Dad Hammer Pub is found in two places outside of Medium:

Jump on over and connect with on both so we can share stories as they come out, and grow our community!

Thank you for reading, and we will see you next week!

The Dad Hammer Pub

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault

Author of 15 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com