Taylor NARCI-SWIFT

By Kedron Phillips

Kedron Phillips
The Herald
4 min readApr 23, 2024

--

Photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

After recently winning a Grammy the “great” Taylor Swift decided that while she was accepting her award she would announce her new album. Um…hello? These people who are in the audience are quite literally your professional colleagues; they are not your fan base. That’s the same as someone at work getting a promotion and then announcing it to everyone. Frankly, I don’t think the people who were in the audience cared that much. And another thing Taylor, it makes you look like you only care about yourself. Oh wait…

Photo Courtesy of Spotify

This album is called “The Tortured Poets Department.” Tortured? I don’t think there is anything tortured about Taylor Swift. First of all, she gaslit everyone into buying a re-recorded album making TONS off of songs that were already written and published. Also, she quite literally trolled her ENTIRE fanbase into paying thousands of dollars to see her. And a third thing, have you seen her private jet flight pattern? Not really someone I would view as tortured!

According to her, her initial plan was to announce it at her Tokyo show to all her fans…seems like the appropriate place to me. Seeing how everyone that was there was only there to see YOU they would have loved it. I can say with complete assurity that the people who were in the crowd at the Grammys were most definitely not there to see you. Her loyal fan base goes on and on about “oh Taylor Swift gets so much hate,” “Oh Taylor is just SO amazing” blah blah blah on and on it goes. HELLO?!?! Open your eyes people. If people would stop putting her on a pedestal for like two seconds they could see what I’m talking about.

If it’s not clear enough, I am NOT a Swiftie. I think she’s overhyped, okay? She’s a 34 year old woman singing about drama with men… get a new hobby. I think we need something else to talk about here. There’s a real world going on. I’m sorry, but anyone with THAT many exes is kookoo-ca-freaking chew. Also, it’s a little cringey that people idolize her. I don’t think I could count how many TikTok videos there are of people filming themselves as she walks out onto a stage and they are screaming and crying for this woman. A 34 year old woman who sings about drama she’s had in the past…?

Photo courtesy of Longview News Journal

Let’s face it, Travis Kelce, you’re doomed bro. If y’all ever break up, there’s going to be not just one, but like three albums FULL of songs all about YOU. And not just songs, but songs that will completely DRAG you through the mud. So that’s just weird to me. I’m not a Swiftie, I’ll never be a Swiftie. Sorry, I said what I said, and I’m definitely not taking it back!

I’m not sitting here saying that I don’t listen to Taylor’s music at times. In fact. I played “Lover,” “Cruel Summer,” and “All of The Girls You Loved Before” at my BRIDAL SHOWER. Like I said, I’m not saying she’s not talented. What I AM saying is that I think she’s a little too caught up in herself. I just don’t think that announcing her new album at the Grammys was the right thing to do and at this point in her life, it’s time to get a new topic. I think if you’ve had that many failed relationships it might be time to start thinking “maybe I’m the problem?” But who am I to judge? Truth hurts and I’m here serving up a world of pain! It’s okay Taylor, therapy could be your best friend. XOXO

Read our other Taylor Swift article from last semester: Taylor Swift Sucks and I Can Prove It.

Photo courtesy of The Blue Diamond Gallery

--

--