Paula Bossio — Approaching a Dream

Ricardo Nunez
The Migratory
Published in
7 min readMay 29, 2018

“I remember so vividly being under the table were my mom used to work, drawing houses from inside. A little inspired by the book of interior architecture that were around in the house. From there, I began to invent stories, because I felt it was very fun.”

中文 / Español

It was a true pleasure to meet Paula. Her house is the perfect reflection of parents that as the daughter, have a great affinity to arts. Her work is specially clean and very meticulous, where is clear there is always a deep investigation in her sketches. An illustrator, with a very wide investigation work and a big knowledge in illustrators and artists with a very varied artistic styles that at the end enriched her personal work.

I especially like her renders since I find them very exquisite. Her pencil work is impecable and we are very looking forwards to see more of her stories and her special way to tell them.

Can you introduce yourself?

My name is Paula Bossio, I’m Graphic Designer and Illustrator.

When you finished studying, did you begin doing illustration or Graphic Design?

When I finished the university I began doing what I didn’t want, work in an advertisement agency. I worked there for nine years and I began doing Graphic Design. The work in advertisement helped me a lot to think fast developing conceptual problems, since the rhythm of work there is very accelerated. At the end I am thankful to have worked there. I found wonderful people that pushed me to do unexpected things. Every job that was related to illustration, they were assigned to me and that motivated me kept me working there for a long time.

When the illustration came?

I would say that arrived when I was in the University. I cannot remember in which specific moment but I remember that I loved it. I had a lot of classes illustration related because at that time, the university used to combined Illustration classes with Graphic Design because the Illustration as a career didn’t exist.

Nonetheless there was a class that change completely my perception of illustration. The teacher was Enrique Lara, who’s today is the Editor of a publishing company called: “Gato Malo (Bad Cat)”. The class was called Juvenile and children’s book illustration. I simply loved it because I was able to discover types of book that I never hear before. Even graphic novels which at that time I wasn’t so familiar with. I loved that much that I decided to dedicate myself to work on that.

I loved the images since they were very different from the ones I saw before. I also saw for the first time stories that I found very profound. I think everything began just there. Later, I began to do some little works with illustration involve. With the time, doors began to open. On the other hand, I always liked to participate in contest worldwide and from them I received recognition. I though this was a sign of what was the path I should chose.

For you, What is illustration?

Illustration is a language that tells a story with visual elements. I also believe is art created by people and for the people, is a language that pull the viewer closer. It happened to me, illustration dragged me and put me closer to more complex codes as text. In my case what pulled me closer to the books was the images that they contained. I still find that amazing.

I also feel that illustration is made by very complex elements such as concept, design, composition and narrative.

What are your influences?

The first books I had on my hands and inspired me were the ones done by Lane Smith, Isol, Chris Van Allsburg. When I see the style of them, is easy to note they all are very different. One is very realistic while the other has a way simpler language. There, I realized how wide could be the field of illustration.

Then I began to read Another Browne and Maurice Sendak. But it was Antony Browne’s work who I felt more identified with and specially because in his stories, his characters have very human personalities. From Browne’s work I like specially a character he created called Willie, which describes a lot of particularities of the personality of its author. I think is very interesting being able to tell personal things that I usually don’t tell trough the characters I can invent.

What are the frustrations or defeats you have face in your career?

There is something that has interrupt my professional work as an illustrator and is something I feel really uncomfortable with and is the day by day. I have to live and to live I need money and to have money I most have a constant job. Sometimes I immerse myself in jobs unrelated to illustration and sometimes I feel those jobs don’t allow me to work on those books I wanna do. Sometimes I feel time flies and I don’t have the capacity to go that fast. I think I have to make decisions in how I utilize my time.

I think, that is what scares me the most. Not being able to go fast doing the things I love knowing that life pass so fast. To have a consolidated work I think I have to sacrifice unimportant things; maybe suffer a little economically but being able to work more time on my personal projects.

How do you see the industry of Illustration in Colombia?

I think the industry in Colombia has change a lot since I remember. It has transform a lot now that technology and social media have help us to be more recognizable and reach farther horizons. I also feel there are more people interested in working in Illustration and do great jobs. There are also many venues where you can learn and see Illustration.

Regarding problems, I feel it would be necessary to have a generic value for the work. I feel there is a sub value of the field. People still think that because I love what I do, is not a job. However they don’t see the discipline and effort that Illustration requieres. People think that there are not mental exercise in illustration, when is clear that drawing is a very complex one. I think not many understand this. For instance, when I studied in high school, arts were never taken seriously. I never have an art class in his school, which I think is not so good.

In that sense, I think we, the illustrators must keep fighting to open a space to ourselves, defending the profession and giving it the value it deserves.

Any advise?

My advise will be to be patient. We must understand that as in life as in work things wont come instantaneously, as the social media appear to be. You must walk the path, wait, be prudent and knock doors because things don’t come from nothing. The process to be a good professional will never change, it’s slow and will always requiere time.

Another one would be to seek for things that might inspire you. Exhibitions, lectures, congresses, etc. This is very inspiring and also can help you to create a network that can be fundamental in your work. As a freelance, the support of my colleagues is very important. I’m very thankful to my friends, illustrators and designers, they have been very generous with me while walking my path.

More about Paula in ourPatreon

Favorite places of Paula in Bogotá

Museums, Colombian Costumes Museum in downtown. La Casa de la Moneda. Botero Museum. Botanical Garden. Independent bookstores like Mr. Fox, Casa Tomada, La Valija de Fuego, Casa Tinta.

Favoritos de Paula Bossio
Animal:
Chimpanzee
Music: Leonardo Favio
Food: Typical Colombian soups
Movie: Valentina (Antonio José Betancor)
Book: The City(Armin Greder)

Written by: Ricardo Nunez Suarez
Other illustrators The Migratory

--

--