Violeta Hernandez — A perfect symbiosis

Ricardo Nunez
The Migratory
Published in
5 min readJan 20, 2018

A Mexican illustrator that combines Illustration, Design and art with a thin line in between.

中文 / Español

I feel very glad we had the chance to see the work of Violeta. Her strong but kind manners brought from Monterrey, Mexico; I believe are also the reflection of her characters. Women she draws seems to be delicate but strength can be seen in their expressions. I think her work swims freely from illustration, art and design; connecting them harmonically but also making clear differences between them.

Her work can move from tight design for different brands in Mexico, to solo exhibitions in which she express her emotions trough her attractive and suggestive characters. Her illustration style also has given her the chance to be the face of numerous brands in Mexico. To me she will be the perfect example of how art, design and illustration can interact to each other in an perfect symbiosis among them.

Can you introduce yourself?

I’m Violeta Hernandez, I’m a designer and an illustrator from Monterrey, Mexico. I’ve been living and working in the capital for about 4 years.

How did you start your career?

I began studying Graphic Design, I have drawn since I’m a child but was when I was studying Graphic Design that I began to give a new focus to my illustration work. I began to think of how to make my work more comercial. Was about 3 years after I finished my studies that I started to develop my own language in illustration, not just working for different brands but also developing my own voice. My first solo exhibition was when I was 26 years old.

For you, What is illustration?

Illustration to me is a drawing that communicates a text or an idea from somebody else or in some case from yourself. Sometimes I write and I generate and illustration based on what I wrote. To me, that’s illustration. On the other hand, everything that is done from a personal imaginary I call it art. Is kind of hard to explain because nowadays art, designs and illustration in many cases are hand by hand at the point that is hard to see where illustration finish and where art begins and the same thing occurs with design.

Can you briefly talk about your illustration making process?

If is a personal project the process is very natural. I’m always working and drawing. Then, at some point I want to show my work so I begin to look for a way to show it to the public, either in an exhibition, or print series, etc.

When is a commercial project, things are a little different. Time in those cases is money, so I have to be more effective in what I’m doing. I begin working with a brief from the brand or agency. Once I have the concept clear I begin to execute it, either on the computer or by hand. It’s a different way to work but I also like it.

Resuming: On my personal work I have more freedom and no deadlines and I can do whatever I want. However with a commercial work I also do what I want but I have certain guidelines I have to follow. For that reason is a little bit more complex.

What do you enjoy to do the most from your work?

When I’m not working I watch Netflix or I go out with friends and have a beer. Nonetheless I always ended up doing something related to work which I actually don’t feel as work. Nowadays I have been practicing ceramics. I have some basic knowledge of it so in my free time I practice it. At the end of the day, that will become part of my job. My hobbies and my job are going together so I mix them very often.

What is your favorite piece you have done and why?

My favorite piece is a reflexion of how I was feeling by the time I did it. It has something special. It’s a girl that is inside in a kind of a showcase that is actually a time machine. When I did it, I was also writing short stories. I was talking of a character that wanted to go back on time in order to amend mistakes she did before. That piece reflects how I was feeling at that moment. I wanted to be in a time machine and change things I did and I didn’t want to.

Any advise for those who are starting their illustration careers?

My advise would be to value your work. If you consider you are good, you don’t need to give away your work. I agreed that while we are getting more experienced the money we charge should also be more but that doesn’t mean that you have to free away your work in your beginning in order to be known. There are many ways your work can be seen such as Instagram, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. Besides, there are also many ways to learn things online for free.

To know more about this artist visit our Patreon

Violeta’s favorite places in D.F.
Botanical Park UNAM Anthropological Museum Casa Barragán
Bookstore: El Péndulo, Fondo de Cultura Económica

Violeta Hernandez favorites:
Animal: Dog
Music: All but La Banda music
Movie: Dracula (Francis Ford Coppola)
Book: Animalario Universal del Profesor Revillod (Javier Sáez)

Written by: Ricardo Nunez Suarez
Translated by :Ricardo Nunez Suarez

--

--