Birthday

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2023
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

Hey I am stressed

Sometimes I feel dumb

Maybe should have heeded Josef’s advice

Look I feel paranoid

Mind is a thousand places

Talked to the girl from her

She told me her sis is getting married

I told her, maybe me and you could be next

She laughed and said, maybe someday

I was really bothered by that

What is that supposed to mean

Do you want me to open a door for you to walk right out

I’m not even too close to my family

Every day that my own mother is nice to me feels like a huge trap

Don’t call me Habibi

And my dad is just always disappointed

Everybody takes up mental energy

And time sending you mixed signals

Guess I’m just gonna keep improving myself

At least in other places there are rumors around

That I’m so weird

Some loser

Some basket case

Some outcast

Oh, you got so far

Remember last year

Work hard

Where is the confidence

Movie script

Where was that

Look, I just want to sit and talk for hours

About the pain I go through

Man I talked to my family today

And a few people

Felt mad embarrassed

Birthday

I’m way too nice to people

Should be more negative

At least I get

I’m nervous

It feels all the time that I’m on the edge

But reality needs to sit in

My time is valuable

I’m a stud

I’m special

Ok casanova

Sometimes I look at the cup as half empty

Always seem to do that

Trying to search for the negativity

Even when it seems like there’s none

Gotta come up with a plan

Mind is really very clouded

I went to sleep and got lazy

Good start to a birthday

I don’t know

Should have done better

People are counting on me

I wanted to not let the thoughts race

Kinda need a vacation

I could see that

I could do better

But my mind is a bit clouded

Growing up doesn’t feel too real anymore

Anyways fam

Yeah

I guess

That was my birthday

Should I start a woe is me party and celebrate

Birthday

Yeah I guess it was my birthday

--

--

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite