Xenagos, God of Revels | Jason Chan

Magic: The Gathering

Magical Thinking: Born of the Gods

Jessie Staffler
The Ugly Monster
Published in
10 min readSep 1, 2021

--

Welcome back to Magical Thinking, a look back at the cards and art of Magic: the Gathering, set by set, from the beginning. This week we continue our odyssey into Theros with the second set of the Theros block, February 2014’s Born of the Gods.

The border between the Nyx and Theros is becoming thin, leading the god of slaughter, Mogis, to send his Minotaur armies to destroy the rest of Theros. The planeswalker Elspeth leads a counter attack and drives them back, but the celebration of her victory is used by the planeswalker Xenagos to kickstart his ascension to godhood. Now there is a new god on the block, and Elspeth gets the blame and is cast out. Pretty raw deal for Elspeth. Will she be able to set this right? Will Xenagos be stopped? Let’s find out.

I always liked the centurion aesthetic. Also I recently rewatched the Samurai Jack episode that was a take on 300 so this is totally my jam right now.

Not sure if this was covered last time, but yeah, Theros has Leonine, and they actually don’t really care for the gods if the DnD book is any indication. That probably makes them the smartest people in the whole setting.

Not entirely sure how this place is being destroyed, but it definitely is. Kind of looks like the place is being flooded by liquid light.

Inspired is one of the new mechanics for this set. Inspired means that a creature can do something when they untap, and is meant to represent divine inspiration. Sadly, this effect failed to inspire players. It’s a 9 on the Storm Scale, so don’t expect to see it again.

We won’t bore you with the details of his miraculous escape. But it was pretty epic. Also, have I mentioned I love the returned aesthetic with the golden masks?

Not a clean windshield in Theros when this guy makes the scene.

Tribute gives your opponent a choice. Either you get a bigger creature, or some other benefit. Tribute sits at an 8 on the Storm Scale, so don’t expect to see it again. It’s a shame because I really like tribute as a mechanic.

“Alright mister, now you sit there and not exist until you’ve thought about what you’ve done…which you can’t because you no longer exist. I did not think this through.”

There is a cycle of these enchantment creatures in this set called the archetypes, which give your creatures an ability and deny that ability to your opponent. This one in particular seems strong since it means your opponent can’t stop your attacks anymore (Unless they are Green and have reach minions for days). Also, I think these archetypes might be a reference to the ancient Greek idea of the ideal, but that might be a reach.

“I predict…I’m going to draw two cards.” Always make sure to hedge your bets, right?

Here is a reference to Narcisius, who in Greek myths was a guy who was cursed to fall in love with his own reflection. In the Theros Beyond Death set this guy will get a full card, but more on that later.

Okay, I have no idea who Lindos is but he’s now my favorite character in Magic. Card for Lindos when?

Also, I feel like this guy should be bigger than a 4/4. It’s a giant sea serpent, that should be a 6/6 at the very least.

That definitely is a perplexing creature. I mean, how does it go to the bathroom? I like the effect in that it lets you trade it away to steal a spell.

I like the fact that they can no longer block non-flyers. Gives the impression they are stuck up there.

“Hello? I would like to come down now. Hello? I’m cold and lonely and a sea gull stole my hat.”

Hey Lindos, I found your bigger sea monster. Also, this is what I’m talking about. THIS is a giant sea monster, and when it attacks it’s EVERYBODY’S problem.

I don’t think it counts as a treefolk if they are just a pile of corpses shaped into a tree, but I guess you guys know what you’re doing.

I think the cyclops might disagree with that perfect hit part.

“Dammit, why do they go for the eye every time? Every single time! That’s just mean, man.”

Of course this lady is smart. She stores her eye in her mouth where it’s safe…wait.

Anyway this one is based on the Grae, the witches who shared an eye and told Perseus where Medusa was. I am always a sucker for hags.

Theros Minotaurs don’t mess around, do they? I especially like the hair.

You’re lucky, buddy. One letter off and that would have been a lot more painful for you. I think this is the precursor to the treasure token mechanic that would come later.

Sadly all the messages say different variations of the word “ouch.”

I think the main problem here is you need a reliable way to untap these inspire guys that doesn’t involve attacking. I mean, stick them in a convoke deck or some other deck that requires you tap stuff and you’re in business. Otherwise, I don’t know.

So that’s what returned look like without their masks. How to describe them…I know: AHHHHHHHH!

Erebos really likes the whole “holding up a big rock” punishment. We’ll see this again in Theros Beyond Death. On who you may ask? You’ll see…

You know, I never would have guessed there was a cyclops at One Eye Pass. I would have guessed a hydra or a chimera, but not a cyclops. Cow could I possibly discern the clues in the name to figure out it would be a cyclops? I’m not a scientist here.

I feel like Thor is gonna sue somebody over this. Still, I guess when all you got is a hammer, every problem looks like a thing you hit with a hammer.

I love how Magic can just tell a whole story in a single card. Even without knowing the story of Icarus you can already tell how this is going to end.

Like I told you last time, satyrs are not the fun kind of party goers. Even Andrew WK would tell these guys to dial it back.

I think this is the Theros equivalent of “hold my beer”. Or maybe the Theros version of “fuck around and find out.” It’s definitely one or the other.

They’ve been filled with delicious creamy melted cheese.

Looks like the fondue is done.

Yeah, I know, two cheese puns in a row. Dairy go for three? Sorry that was really cheesy, but I gotta keep milking this, so don’t have a cow. DEAR GOD HELP ME.

I think this was around that time that honey badger video was getting big, which is probably the only reason this card got made. *Checks* okay the video was around 2011, so yeah, this was probably still in the back of their mind when they made this card.

I don’t think it’s the webs making the nightmares. It’s probably the fact it came from a giant spider. If there were spiders the size of cars in the real world I for one would never go outside. And I’m not even that scared of spiders.

And even in Theros we have the tradition of “Monster that is just a generic creature that is labeled as a beast”. It does make me optimistic for a DnD game. If you can put that in Theros you can fit in anything.

Not sure if there were unicorns in Greek myth, but at the same time I think this is based on the golden hind from the labors of Hercules.

I think I found my first character concept if I ever play a game in Theros I’m not DMing.

I like the flavor that this thing starts out small, and keeps growing more heads the more it eats. On top of that, I really like Hydras.

Not gonna lie, I’m just here for that epic pun. I like to imagine the bestowed creature riding the chromanticore like Bastion riding Falcore at the end of Neverending Story.

It wouldn’t be Theros without gods. This week we’re getting allied color gods. Starting with Ephara, the Azorius god. One thing to note about the dual color gods is their devotion requirement is a bit bigger, needing seven instead of five for the mono colored gods. I think Ephara combines the aspects of Blue and White well, giving you cards for summoning creatures, which ties in Blue and White’s major strengths.

And here is Karametra, the Selesnya god, with the very impressive hat game. She also combines her two colors well. And she’s probably the biggest god we’ve seen thus far.

I don’t know if we’ve met Kiora in Magical Thinking yet, but here she is now. She’s in Theros checking out their sea monsters (which is her thing). Eventually she runs afoul of Thassa, and manages to steal her bident for herself. You’ll see that story retold in Theros Beyond Death.

And here we have the Rakdos god. Mogis is the god of slaughter and also the patron of Theros’ minotaurs. I really like his ability, since it can seriously mess up an opponent’s day if they don’t have a way to deal with it. Also, he’s another big bruiser, which I like.

Phenax is not only the Dimir god, he’s also the first returned on Theros, the guy that Erebos sent Tyramet to kill (not that he’s ever gonna do it, but its not for lack of trying). Phenax is my favorite god now because he’s apparently the god of milling. Which I can dig. Load up on those high toughness zero attack creatures and just mill away.

And last but not least we have Xenagos, the main villain of Theros block and our newly minted god of revels, who is holding it down for the Gruul color combo. There’s no party like a Xenagos party because a Xenagos party results in a city block burning to the ground. And now this guy is a god, so you can see why people are kind of upset about that. But I’m sure Elspeth is up to the task of taking him down.

That may be the most messed up equipment we’ve had in Magic since New Phyrexia, and that set had you ripping out people’s spines. Like yeah, here’s your severed gorgon head. Go have fun.

Of course we did have fun, didn’t we. But it’s time for a break in the action. Will Xenagos bring ruin to Theros? Will Elspeth find peace? Is Heliod a massive tool? Find out the answers to these questions and more next week when we conclude our look at Theros block with a Journey Into Nyx. But until then, Stay Magical my friends.

--

--

Jessie Staffler
The Ugly Monster

Creative Writer looking to make money writing. Prefers to write stuff based on fantasy, Sci fi and horror